Q6600 Lapping and New Mobo thread. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2007, 05:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Q6600 Lapping and New Mobo thread.

This is a thread to show off my new Abit IX38 Quad GT motherboard and to show the lapping process.
Here is a review for the motherboard if you are interested.
Abit IX38 QuadGT Review - hosted by Neoseeker
Below is a picture of the motherboard and some MX-2 thermal paste.


Here is an untouched Q6600.


I begin with 30 or so passes of 320 grit sandpaper. You can see the writting is gone and it begins to look like a mirror.


I move onto 1000 grit. The pciture below is after 40 passes if not more of 1000 grit sand paper.


Then onto 1500 grit. The image below is after 40 if not more passes of 1500 grit sand paper. Very shiney.


And I finish, with the most passes on 2000 grit sandpaper. So after about 60 if not more passes, this is the end result. No nickle is left and I am able to see my reflection.

My final steps:
I cleaned the top and bottom of the cpu off with Alcohol. I did it to the bottom t make sure there is NO skin oil on any of the contacts. I then use compressed air on both sides to make sure all alcohol is evaporated and then I plop it in the board.


Updates finished, I will now go install windows and see if all my overclocking issues have been solved.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Q6600 Lapping and New Mobo thread.

I await your posts. Bookmarked.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 Lapping and New Mobo thread.

...waiting
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Q6600 Lapping and New Mobo thread.

And then ? .. Waiting.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Q6600 Lapping and New Mobo thread.

Doesn't lapping ruin the model number and such on the face of the CPU?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 Lapping and New Mobo thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Doesn't lapping ruin the model number and such on the face of the CPU?
yup it voids the warranty...but how many core 2 duos have you heard sent back for RMA?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 Lapping and New Mobo thread.

Overclocking voids the warranty too, so what harm is lapping. BTW, ste did you not get rid of the nickel plating? I'm pretty sure thats how i got most of the gain on my lap.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 Lapping and New Mobo thread.

yeah ste I would grind it down to the copper before going on to 1000 grit.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 07:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Q6600 Lapping and New Mobo thread.

what are the temp gains when lapping, fellas?

do you do the HSF the same way?

heh my cpu only cost me 65 bucks (read: expendable) and i need a new one to test anyway, so im thinkin i will try it this weekend.

my temps are great now, but in the summer its hot as h3ll here.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 07:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 Lapping and New Mobo thread.

the temp benefits really vary from chip to chip. Also on AMD you've got to be a tad more careful as there are pins on the CPU that can be bent.

Honestly if your temps are fine and not holding back your OC in any way I'd just leave it.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.