Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!! - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2007, 04:26 AM   #51 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merkwürdigliebe View Post
^ Yeah, I payed $80 for my mobo, and on top of that I've got a B3 stepping, so I shouldn't be surprised that I need 1.6V to hit 3.6GHz. I might be able to get 3.6GHz with 1.5-something, but I don't want to bother with those kinds of voltages, I only did so for some benchmarking.
my b3 did 3.6ghz on 1.475v
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:36 AM   #52 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
my b3 did 3.6ghz on 1.475v
wow thats good.
well i tried 3.8 @ 1.55, but it wasnt stable.
whats the most volt you should try?
im not worried about temps, cos i can freeze my room up easily.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:52 AM   #53 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

Technically, intel says anything over 1.5v is too much, so take that however you want. I have had mine as high as 4.05 with 1.55v and temps were ok, but i just dont think the chip can handle that much speed.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 10:55 AM   #54 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

well i had mine at 3.8 with 1.55 and 3dmark wasnt stable.
I read somewhere and ppl are saying that if you lower the multi to 8X, your oc might be more stable...is that true?

And im not sure if i was suppose to raise my mch,and fsb volt higher to get it stable?
Im not worried about temps, i can get my room to like 40C easily...
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:08 PM   #55 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

I was able to complete a 3dmark run at 4050 but my performance actually went down at that speed, go figure.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 12:45 PM   #56 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
I was able to complete a 3dmark run at 4050 but my performance actually went down at that speed, go figure.
i got a 3dmark at 3.7 and my score went down too...so i guess my cpu cant get that far...
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 01:49 PM   #57 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

BTW, whats the VID of your cpu? Mine is 1.2. VID, not vcore.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 01:53 PM   #58 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

my vid is 1.2875...or 1.2785, im at work so i cant really remember.
when i have my oc below 3.6 and ram multi at 2, my ram speed is below 800, is that ok?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 02:30 PM   #59 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

Ya, its just underclocking your memory, which wont hurt anything other than your performance. I would set the memory manually if you are running below a 400fsb.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop running a little hot... Raknor Laptops and Notebooks 4 01-01-2008 12:45 AM
Hot! Hot! Hot! Syphanx New Systems | Building and Buying 12 10-31-2007 06:48 AM
Q6600 running hot osborne3 Overclocking and Modding 5 09-04-2007 05:37 AM
Q6600 running hot osborne3 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 08-25-2007 03:48 AM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.