Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2007, 03:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

hey guys,
i finally got my q6600 and installed it with a tuniq tower 120.
My case is a CM-690 and i have 2 intake fans(bottom next to psu, and front)
and 2 exhausts(one on back and one right ontop of tuniq.

My cpu on stock is idling around 45 and on orthos load it went upto 75 in less than a minute so i stopped it right away.

My tuniq is pretty tightly attached on my mobo, so whats goin on here?
why are my temps so hot?
i know that the as5 hasnt kicked in yet, but it shouldnt be this hot.
Plss help.
thanks.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 04:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

What's your ambient temp? Living in FL and saving on the cooling bill, my ambient temp can get pretty high and it really messes with my temps. Other than that I'd suggest waiting for the AS5 to cure or if you're feeling really productive try lapping your Heatsink.

Guide here - How to lap the Intel LGA775 IHS flat - The Tech Repository Forums
__________________

__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 04:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

shouldnt have to lap ur cpu to get lower than 45.. i'm running 42 idle right now on stock cooler.. w/ 0 fans on it.. it just sits on my desk, the tuniq may be mounted wrong, or you could have put the paste on incorrectly... either way, let it sit overnight idling so the paste has time to spread around then check your temps again, if they're still bad.. then you definitely should try reseating and reapplying thermal paste
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 04:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

well i applied the as5 across like the pic on the website showed.
and i mounted the tuniq the same way i had done before...
Man...this sucksss.
arghhh!!!!
And i hate this tu niq since its HUUUGE...its so hard putting this thing on..
well i guess ill wait untill tomorrow morning.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 04:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

just have to try reseating it

are you sure the tuniq fan is spinning up?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 05:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
just have to try reseating it

are you sure the tuniq fan is spinning up?
spinning up...no.
I have it spinning side ways towards the back exhaust....i did this with my dual core too.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 08:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

id try applying the as5 with the 'drop method' (how u place a blob on the middle and put on the cpu cooler). cant really go wrong with that method, whereas if you try spread it around, you could end up with dust particles/grit/air pockets etc - much more suspectible to error.
enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 08:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

On Quads the "line method" is the best, really.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

do the line method. and make sure you keep the fan at 100% otherwise its not going to cool worth a crap.

mine idles near room temp, and went no more than 35* on stock speeds.
mgcook is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 12:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 G0 running TOOOOO HOT!!!!

well if i max out the tuniqs fan the fan goes to 2000 rpm and its LOUDDDD . so i set it at 1000.

And what way should I have the tuniq?
is there only one way?
Its chilli in my basement since i live in mn, although we usually have the room heated.
NOw my temps are like 31-35 idle, but i know that wont stay like that since its like 65 degrees in my room and it will go up once i have the heater on.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop running a little hot... Raknor Laptops and Notebooks 4 01-01-2008 12:45 AM
Hot! Hot! Hot! Syphanx New Systems | Building and Buying 12 10-31-2007 06:48 AM
Q6600 running hot osborne3 Overclocking and Modding 5 09-04-2007 05:37 AM
Q6600 running hot osborne3 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 08-25-2007 03:48 AM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.