Q6600 G0 overclocking, VID=1.212 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2008, 10:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Talking Q6600 G0 overclocking, VID=1.212

ok thought id make a thread for my new cpu which arrived today, going to spend some time overclocking it, first boot was at 3.6ghz (400x9) @1.45v was not stable im going to try slightly slower and see if i can get it stable. i will post results soon.

Specs;
Q6600 with TRUE
2GB ocz drr2 800
Gigabyte ds2r microatx mobo
corsair 520hx psu
500gb memory
9800gtx (stock for now)

Well i couldnt get it stable at anything higher than 3.3 becuase the voltage gets too high and the temps sit around 66c (load), currently running at 3.2 at stock voltage. guess ill have to get out the old water cooling kit...

Anyway it got me a better 3dmark06 score of 14000 (at 3.6), is this good for my setup?
__________________

El_Roberto is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 G0 overclocking, VID=1.212

What are your temps on all 4 cores? I know the TRUE usually requires lapping to get maximum effectiveness. I had upwards of 14C between cores on mine. I run 3.6ghz at 1.4v. When you say not stable, are you referring to prime95 or just crashes?
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 11:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 G0 overclocking, VID=1.212

Are you running your ram on a 1:1 ratio?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 01:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: Q6600 G0 overclocking, VID=1.212

As a newbie to all this, the biggiest thing I learned that's not clearly explained in noob speak, is that oc'ing the ram seems to be the hardest part to get stable. Mine is stable now after I made sure to put it 1:1 (which is not oc'd at all @ 400x9) with the FSB, made sure I had the correct voltage for my ram (2.1v for OCZ SLI ram), and set my timings loose enough to stay stable (5-5-5-18 to start with, later tightened it down to 5-4-4-12).

As for 3dmark06 score, my Q6600 at (400x9) 1.4225v, 4gb ram, and 9800GTX oc'd to 830, 2052, 1240 gave me a score of 15,909. Mighty decent I think for a non SLI system.
brewabeer is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 01:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 G0 overclocking, VID=1.212

Your ram is running 800mhz 5,4,4,12 at 2.1V? Is it the 8500 or the 6400?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 02:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: Q6600 G0 overclocking, VID=1.212

6400. Should I down the voltage some?
brewabeer is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 02:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Q6600 G0 overclocking, VID=1.212

2.1 voltage on RAM is fine. I think that's what OCZ warranty's.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 03:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 G0 overclocking, VID=1.212

Quote:
Originally Posted by brewabeer View Post
6400. Should I down the voltage some?
If it's the 2x1gb kit then it should do 4,4,4,12 800mhz 1t!!! at 2.1V
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 03:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 G0 overclocking, VID=1.212

Nah its 2x2 ocz ram.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-28-2008, 04:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 311
Default Re: Q6600 G0 overclocking, VID=1.212

it is stable at 3.6ghz (ie no crashes) but it will not last longer than 1 min in prime 95, also get BSOD if i boot any higher than 3.6 (probly needs more volts?) i tried 3.7ghz at 1.5v but it didnt work and i cant go higher due to temps (high 60's) im thinking i might save up and get a good water cooling loop. ram is running 1:1. also i turned of all of vista's grapical effects and it took my 3dmark score up to 16002, i think i need a reinstall though because crysis wont run at any higher than 20fps on settings that used to run at 30+

BTW; i just noticed that at 1.45v it actually sits at 1.36v. so pretty bad vdroop
__________________

El_Roberto is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Help required: Overclocking a Intel Q6600 (g0) trip121 Overclocking and Modding 9 01-09-2008 12:56 PM
Overclocking Newbie help /w q6600 enthusiast1917 Overclocking and Modding 5 12-28-2007 02:40 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.