q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8 - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2008, 07:37 PM   #81 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

go for it Drizzt5!!!! Get it to 3ghz...
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 07:40 PM   #82 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

w/ the tuniq tower.. i'd say i can take it to 3.6v and still have very comfortable temperatures.. so you've got a while to go
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 07:45 PM   #83 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

3.6V ARE YOU CRAZY!!

do u mean 3.6ghz or 1.6v (thats also steep)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 07:47 PM   #84 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

last time I checked the average "safe" 24/7 Voltage for Q6600's is about 1.55 Volts. that and so long temps are below 71C max load.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 07:57 PM   #85 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
w/ the tuniq tower.. i'd say i can take it to 3.6v and still have very comfortable temperatures.. so you've got a while to go
Haha... Drizzt just wants to get 3.. then he will go for 3.6....
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 08:47 PM   #86 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

well i dont think im getting there anytime soon....

I raised that sucker up to 1500 with the 8x multiplier and had the cpu at 1.3v... I also had the memory on 800 i think, and it was unlinked, with 4-4-4-12....

I raised the voltage on this stuff too

fsb 1.5v
MCP 1.55V
SPP 1.6 V
HT 1.5


and the final result!?!?

Nothing... still displays that god **** bios verison and what my core is at and then nothing... so i tried it on 9x after the 8x and same thing happend...

so i just upped it to 1600 for fun... IT BOOTS!!! WTF????

but i got a blue screen error the moment i tried to log into one of my accounts...

I swear this makes me wanna cry lol... i just wanna see 3 ghz god damnit!
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 08:56 PM   #87 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

If it boots at 1.6 Ghz Front side bus, it may just mean you have to play with the voltages more.

Keep tweaking and playing with vcore. max is 1.55
Ste is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 09:00 PM   #88 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

So you dont think i should be crying on the inside because of this whole SE mobo? Because I really want to take it out right now, go in the street and break it in half... but i must play games ^.^

1266 is the most stable fsb ive gotten so far.... i tried 1270 and it didnt make it through prime for more then 30 mintues... But those were stock voltages... ill try changing some voltages tommorow...

I'm getting this thing to 3.6 even if it doesnt support quad core overclocking on the box... lol it says its a 680i so its gonna act like one
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 09:01 PM   #89 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

flash to the newer BIOS they have quad support.
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 09:29 PM   #90 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
flash to the newer BIOS they have quad support.
ya get the p30 or above, you can find them in the evga forum.


thats what sovled my problem for starting this thread, my cpu wouldnt go above 2.8 no matter the voltages
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
EVGA 680i Trade-Up Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-11-2008 04:34 PM
XFX 680i sli vs lt patonb New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-12-2007 12:59 AM
OEM q6600 = 680i SLI mobo for 500$ veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 06-23-2007 04:22 PM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.