q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8 - Page 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2008, 05:50 PM   #71 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

pretty sure that evga doesnt do stepup on there mobos but i could be wrong
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:52 PM   #72 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Its a 1 time upgrade offer.

If i recall its only for the a1 edition, and i think they might have extended it to the LT but i havent checked on it lately. I decided it wasnt worth being without a computer for a week, and having to pay around 125 after all shipping costs are factored in. If my 680i burns again, im just going to buy a striker formula 2 and sell the rma'd 680i.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:54 PM   #73 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

can u still do it? cuz i would love to get a 780i
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:55 PM   #74 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
k... idk wat bios i am running on.

Im not sure what VID is on a CPU...

IDK how 1500 will help if its not stable at 1400 lol, but if u say so...

:/ I am not satisfied with 2.85 Overclock when you guys get to 3.2 - 3.8 with ease

So what should i try first? (zerodayatk, u gotta come over again soon, lol)
You can find the VID of your processor using core temp.

But the VID in your case is less important than the motherboard.



In the end, the cpu may just be a bad overclocker, but you won't know unless you trying overclock on another motherboard.

So I would just reccomend saving up for a nice X38 or X48 board.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 06:01 PM   #75 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalin90 View Post
can u still do it? cuz i would love to get a 780i
If you registered your board, just go to the my products page on Evga.com and check. It should have an option on your board to enter the queue. Last i heard though its a pretty long wait. It started dec 17 and would run for 60 days, so you should have a couple days left still to get in.

The reason i changed my mind, its 80$ for the upgrade + shipping both ways, and they dont cross ship, so you have to ship the old board then wait for the new one.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 06:02 PM   #76 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Ill be saving up for a 24" and maybe when i get some more monies ill see....

But in the meantime is there anything i can do with this to overclock it to at least 3.0? its at 2.8 perfectly stable -_- id be happy with .2 more at least
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 06:04 PM   #77 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Have you tried 8 X 375 for a FSB of 1500..
Or 8 X 400 for 3.2 Ghz. But that would push your FSb to 1.6 Ghz, and from what I have seen in this thread, your mobo would probably not manage.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 07:24 PM   #78 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

well i tried the 8x (idk about that number 375) and fsb of 1500 and all the voltages except the spp because mine only goes up to 1.5... not 1.6 like mgcook suggested and set my cpu voltage to 1.21v and it got to the part that showed my bios verison (which says it is A1 but in cpu it says A2 -_-) and my ghz, which was 2.99 but it would not go any farther then that after a mintue of waiting.... So im going to assume that those settings of 8x and the rest dont work...
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 07:26 PM   #79 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Why is your Vcore so low?

Set it to like 1.3 or 1.32 for 3 Ghz..
Ste is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 07:32 PM   #80 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

ok, ill try it now
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
EVGA 680i Trade-Up Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-11-2008 04:34 PM
XFX 680i sli vs lt patonb New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-12-2007 12:59 AM
OEM q6600 = 680i SLI mobo for 500$ veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 06-23-2007 04:22 PM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.