q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8 - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2008, 12:31 PM   #61 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalin90 View Post
im using those and im settin at 3.0 on my 680i(i dont really need it to go faster), get the p30 bios. im at around 1.2XXv temps a lil higher then i like it but thats because i still have the stock fan in my tuniq and just keep it off cuz its LOUD
i had a tuniq and my temps were never above 55* Loaded in Prime at 3.2Ghz

9 hours Prime stable:
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 12:32 PM   #62 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
I will try this as soon as i get home.

Btw... shouldnt ALL 680i mobos support quadcore overclocking?

If it is a 680i, not a LT... it should support it right?
it does..but the newer BIOS have more support for it. if you need help flashing your BIOS to a new version I can help if you need me to.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 12:53 PM   #63 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
i had a tuniq and my temps were never above 55* Loaded in Prime at 3.2Ghz

9 hours Prime stable:
mine get just below 60 but like i said i have the fan turned off untill i get modivated enough to open up my case and replace the fan...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
me too... omg am i suppoused to buy an aftermarket fan for my aftermarket cooler? lol i didnt know the tuniq needed one i thought the one in it was fine.
you dont have to, its just the stock one is really loud

also for a true you would have to buy a fan also
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 03:46 PM   #64 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

THIS MIGHT BE A BAD PICTURE! WARNING!




wtf!!!!!!!!!!


LOL, i just looked on my mobo box as i was putting it in the basement.... WTF... No check mark next to overclocking of teh quad core??????


O-M-****ING-GOD

p.s. im still gonna do it... though, lol i dont belive in that... its just funny that they have it on the box... LOL
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 04:40 PM   #65 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

are youi sure have have an SE?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 04:43 PM   #66 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

postive... thats my box... hence the picture...

How in the **** was i suppoused to know that the 680i that i bought doesnt support quad core overclocking?

Does that even mean anything though? cause im gonna keep trying to overclock anyways ...
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 04:54 PM   #67 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

if i remember right the se was made for dual core cpus, thats the reason i didnt get it.

try putting the a1 bios on it... but make sure you back up your current bois with a cd b4...

oh and jw why did u get the se version????
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:00 PM   #68 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

cause i had no idea what the diffrence between the se and the regular 680i was....

Actually i remember askign this same exact question when i decided to pick out parts for my new rig and i got back the answer that "that mobo is fine"

I'm reading up on it a little bit and i'm more then a little ****ed off -_- I'm guessing this is what my problem is as far as OCing.....

And about putting a1 on it -_- i really dont want to flash my bios, but i'll do it if it will help.... just not right now
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:39 PM   #69 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

eh, ya, ill sell you buy 680i a1 if you want one, i thought i was gonna sli but decided not to...

if ur intrested pm me
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:46 PM   #70 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

sorry, but if i decide to get rid of this mobo im either going 780i straight away or im going for a p30 or something that supports sli..

But PREFERABLY i would like to not put out money since im trying to save up for my 24"...

and the fact is, i dont NEED to overclock above 2.84, i WANT to...

this SE thing makes me really angry... How can something with the name "SPECIAL EDITION" be less then something that is just regular?????? ROFL


p.s. ill be contacting evga because i should be able to step up this but on the product site it doesnt give me an option.. I can always sell it and rub it in there faces and go XFX ^.^
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
EVGA 680i Trade-Up Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-11-2008 04:34 PM
XFX 680i sli vs lt patonb New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-12-2007 12:59 AM
OEM q6600 = 680i SLI mobo for 500$ veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 06-23-2007 04:22 PM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.