q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8 - Page 16 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2008, 10:51 PM   #151 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

THATS WHAT I DID ROFL! but dude... its only on 1.325 right now and i get 72C at full load... and i made sure the thermal paste was applied right AND i have the tuniq...

Idk what the problem is, i might just have to give the paste some time

And the fsb has been at 1.5 this whole time.
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 10:55 PM   #152 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

whoa, your temps are UUBER high, what kinda case fans do you got going around.. that is WAYYYY to high of temps w/ the tuniq... my cpu never see's 72c and i've got a tuniq and mx-2 and even at 1.4v i only see something like 55-57c while running prime

tighten the tuniq some more..... re apply paste w/ a line going through all 4 cores.. and not a dot.. and DON'T smear the paste... and when putting the heatsink on make sure you twist it a bit so it naturally gets spread across the cpu.. and by twist i don't mean a lot.. just a lil tiny twist left and right maybe 2-3 times

and another thing... what is the temperature around ur area... or in your room...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:27 PM   #153 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

what case are you using? 71*C is the limit that you should g0 to with the newer intel chips...anything above that and you risk damaging the chip.
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:31 PM   #154 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Newegg.com - XION Onyx XON-303 Black/Blue Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

Room temperature is pretty warm, i could open some windows i guess.

I thought i tightened it down pretty hard and i'll double check with my friend what method we used when we applied the paste.

My gfx card temps are pretty low.... i thought.

and i know what the limit is... thats why i can't raise it... thus why i am "wussing" out.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:45 PM   #155 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

well for one, you have no airflow.

one intake and exhaust fan won't cut it.
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:45 PM   #156 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

ya... no way you should be that high, unless its like 90-100 degrees f in your room... lol

i'm pretty sure its bad paste applying, or loose tuniq... is the fan inside the tuniq running full speed... cuz that definitely helps
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:47 PM   #157 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

pretty sure its full speed.. the dials been on full since i installed it...

If it's the case, i planned on getting a new one later on... but i think a mobo would solve my problems faster... idk, i thought the tuniq was on firmly
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 11:48 PM   #158 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

mobo won't solve ur temp problems... you'll still be stuck at a lower clock speed

i'll show a pick of how i got my tuniq set up tonite.. i finally got my camera back.... i also replaced the tuniq fan w/ a 110cfm scythe fan.. don't know if it made a difference because i never even tried stock fan
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 12:11 AM   #159 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

I wonder if he has lapped the heatsink and proc yet...
Ste is offline  
Old 02-16-2008, 12:27 AM   #160 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

the tuniq should be screwed down all the way.

your CPU may just be a bad OCer
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
EVGA 680i Trade-Up Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-11-2008 04:34 PM
XFX 680i sli vs lt patonb New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-12-2007 12:59 AM
OEM q6600 = 680i SLI mobo for 500$ veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 06-23-2007 04:22 PM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.