q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8 - Page 13 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2008, 06:45 PM   #121 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

You have a pretty good VID, my guess is that its that SE board holding you back.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 07:44 PM   #122 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Ok, good, but ill try to fight the SE a little bit... 3.6 is what you guys seem have it at, maybe i can get to 3.4 with this mobo and then my priority upgrade after monitor will be mobo.

As for that offical intel overclocking thing... I should post in there when i feel i have gone as far as i can go right?
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 07:46 PM   #123 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

One can post whatever overclock they have, so long as they use it 24/7.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 10:48 AM   #124 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Ya i run mine at 3.6 24/7, well during the winter at least. Once it warms up, i turn it off at night so i dont have to run my AC as much.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:13 AM   #125 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

I don't like running prime for like 8 hours without being home... Cause when prime is running it goes up to like 66C eventually, and after that it could go up 5 more C's and then thats a bad temperature to have my chip at right?... maybe when my thermal paste sets in and temps are lower i'll do it
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 01:06 PM   #126 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

I only run prime95 for an hour, if no problems then I play games..
Ste is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 03:35 PM   #127 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

OK, i just ran prime with a 1325 fsb and 1.225vcore and it was fine untill core #2 got a rounding error when it was suppoused to be less then .4

Idk wat that means but im guessing that would mean up the voltage a little bit?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 03:38 PM   #128 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

yep click it up a notch or two. and try it again.
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 04:14 PM   #129 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

ok, well correction i actually had it at 1.2100 vcore or something NOW it is at 1.225V

But yes seems pretty stable... i'm hitting 65C as my highest in all cores during the test, so thats good for now i suppouse.

I was talking to my friend about lapping... and at this point i am scared to lap my processor, but lapping my tuniq doesnt sound like it would be too scary... hehe. Would you recommend lapping, and also should i buy a kit?
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 04:19 PM   #130 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Go to the auto parts store, buy some 400 grit sand paper, and tape it to a picture frame glass and set it on a flat table. Lapping kits are a waste.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
EVGA 680i Trade-Up Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-11-2008 04:34 PM
XFX 680i sli vs lt patonb New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-12-2007 12:59 AM
OEM q6600 = 680i SLI mobo for 500$ veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 06-23-2007 04:22 PM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.