q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8 - Page 11 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2008, 01:14 AM   #101 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

cpu 1.4250v

i think thats a lil to high, u might lower it some i have mine at like 1.22 or 1.23

lol 1337 LEET...

and ya flashing bois isnt that hard, u just dont wanna mess it up, that would be bad

edit: and 67, eh we have the same cooler and i dont even have the fan on with mine and it didnt get past 60, try lowering the core voltage
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 10:50 AM   #102 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Its not stable though.. it gets errors in prime just not blue screens.... even with that voltage :/ It might be something with my memory... any recommended settings i should try based on what i have?

and the max supported is 1.55 so ill go all the way up to that if i have to as long as temps stay down i guess.
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 12:10 PM   #103 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Remember to keep playing with the other voltages as well.

If you continue tweaking and playing around, and it is still not stable no Matter What you do, then it is probably the motherboard limiting your OC, and like I said Before, save up for an x38/x48.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 12:25 PM   #104 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

thats WAY to much voltage for that low of a clock.

try setting your ram to 4-4-4-12-2T 800Mhz

and when you run Prime make sure you are doing Small FFTs with 4 torture tests.
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 12:27 PM   #105 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

load up CPU-Z and tell us what the VID of your chip is?

mine is 1.2750
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 01:00 PM   #106 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

1.2v
I can boot as high as 4.0ghz with only 1.5v.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 02:40 PM   #107 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

Drizzt5: What voltage increments have you been trying anyways?
Ste is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 03:17 PM   #108 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

I lowerd voltage to 1.35

lowerd fsb to 1300

Set ram to 4-4-4-12 2T 800 mhz

rest of the voltages are

fsb 1.5v
memory 2.2V
spp 1.55v
mcp 1.65V
HT 1.55V

IDK where vid is in cpu so ill just post a screenshot



if that is too small let me know, ill change my resoultion
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 03:23 PM   #109 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

I'm not going to read every post here, but I tried for a few days and I couldn't achieve anything past 2.8 GHz... I finally fixed it by updating my BIOS. Simple as that. You can view my PC in my sig.
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 03:29 PM   #110 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 g0, 680i wont go above 2.8

yes i just updated my bios man... it's better definatly because the thing isnt crashing but it is still not going so hot.

The problem most likely is that i accidently bought an SE verison of the 680i because I was ignorant.

But I am confident i can get it to 3.6 anyways, maybe higher then i want temps though.


Oh btw, i didnt start this topic, haha i just kind of jumped in and read some stuff then started asking questions, lol kind of funny.
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
EVGA 680i Trade-Up Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-11-2008 04:34 PM
XFX 680i sli vs lt patonb New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-12-2007 12:59 AM
OEM q6600 = 680i SLI mobo for 500$ veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 4 06-23-2007 04:22 PM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.