Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2007, 02:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high.

I'm stressing my 3 GHz overclock right now. I am still running stock voltage and my CPU temp is running at a max of about 66 right now, but my core temps are MUCH higher, Core #1 being the highest of all.

Here's a screenshot from a little earlier.



I'm using this cooler:

Newegg.com - ZALMAN CNPS7700-CU 120mm 2 Ball Cooling Fan - Retail

Alright, now I'm stopping the test because my core temps are getting ridiculously high. :freak:

Core 1 just saw a max of like 93 degrees.

Why are my temps so high?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 03:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default Re: Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high.

Do you have sufficient cooling?
__________________

<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 04:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high.

Unfortunately that cooler isn't much better than the stock intel fan...although the temps still shouldn't be that high. I suggest trying to reseat it with some fresh thermal paste...and also getting a better cooler with a heatpipe design.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 07:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high.

there is definitely something wrong with that as i had temps at a max of 52 degrees while running my q6600@3.0GHz using the stock cooler (in Oz it is summer and i don't have air-conditioning).
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 07:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high.

I know this is a noob question, but when you installed the cooler, did you make sure there there was not a protective film on the face of the cooler before you installed it? Most coolers come with a film to protect it from grease and dirt before installation that needs to be removed. Also make sure it is seated flat on the cpu.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Re: Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high.

No, there's no film or anything covering the bottom of it. I might try to reapply my AS5 and see if that helps. If not, this cooler must just suck. I will either do something with a heatpipe design or do water cooling next.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 01:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high.

Also, just so you know, the temp will go up even at stock voltage.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 01:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Re: Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high.

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Also, just so you know, the temp will go up even at stock voltage.
Yeah, I know that, but I didn't figure it would be near throttling temps without adding any voltage. I think this cooler sucks though, it's never kept my CPU as cool as other people have claimed theirs runs.

This seems to be a popular cooler with a heat pipe design. Should I try it next?
Newegg.com - ZALMAN CNPS9500 AT 2 Ball CPU Cooling Fan/Heatsink - Retail
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 02:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high.

Quick question, what stepping is your cpu.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 02:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default Re: Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high.

I think it's B3.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Great single core> Average dual core? jeller System Upgrades 17 11-28-2007 01:18 AM
Q6600 Different Core Temps mnelson07 Overclocking and Modding 7 10-11-2007 10:27 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
q6600 voltage baron5 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-13-2007 10:14 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.