Q6600 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2008, 09:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default Re: Q6600

Would you say the Big Typhoon could handle the heat from a Q6600 at 3.6Ghz? From the tests I've seen the Typhoon performs slightly behind the TRUE but not by very much.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 10:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Q6600

my tuniq fits in my case very well, and it barely handles my q6600 at recomended temps, i go to like 75 in prime 95, but it never gets that hot when gaming, only like 58'c but i will still be lapping it which is somethign else you should consider.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 10:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanjo View Post
Would you say the Big Typhoon could handle the heat from a Q6600 at 3.6Ghz? From the tests I've seen the Typhoon performs slightly behind the TRUE but not by very much.

Thanks.
If it's by a small margin, then yes, it should be adequate for an overclocked quad.

And not only that. Your ambient temperatures have an affect as well. If it's warm around the room, no matter how good the heatsink is, the temperatures will rise a little.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 10:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: Q6600

Get the Tuniq, imo. I love mine, and it fits in my Antec 900 nicely. I had to mod my side panel 120mm to close it, but it was no big deal. It keep my G0 Q6600 at around 38c idle and 72c at 100% load on all cores (which will never happen in a gaming environment)

If you get the DS3 board, be aware that it has a considerable amount of VDroop. The Vcore you set in the BIOS won't be actual. My BIOS is at 1.537, my idle vcore in CPUZ is 1.504, and 1.424 under full load.

Supposedly the ASUS P5k has less vdroop problems, I wouldn't know for sure. Do some research.
heXTT is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 12:44 AM   #15 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default Re: Q6600

Hi heXTT

Is the vdroop going to be a considerable problem when overclocking? From what I've read vdroop seems to be quite common yet people like yourself still manage to get some decent OCs on their CPU (surely not all of them modify the board to stop the vdroop.)
Amd gt player - I don't really think I want to attempt lapping...It looks somewhat risky.
b1gapl - Can you mount any standard 120mm case fan to the TRUE?

Thanks for all your responses!
__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:13 AM   #16 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanjo View Post
Amd gt player - I don't really think I want to attempt lapping...It looks somewhat risky.
!
it does look a litle risky but if you follow a guide there is no way to mess it up really, you get 300 grit paper 100 grit paper 1500 grit paper and 200 grit paper, you do about 40 passes of each, you clean it with rubbing alchohol and a microfiber cloth, or something of the srt, let it dry, slp it back in and you should be good to go, atleast im hoping its going to be that easy.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 03:19 AM   #17 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default Re: Q6600

While it sounds like a good idea, I just don't really feel up to physically modifying the parts yet. If I'm running high temperature wise then I might try it but I'm just hoping a good cooling system will be enough, thanks for the idea though.

b1gapl - Can you mount any standard 120mm case fan to the TRUE?
__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 07:44 AM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanjo
b1gapl - Can you mount any standard 120mm case fan to the TRUE?
Yes you can. You can also mount a 140mm, believe it or not, with a little ingenuity of the pins that hold the fan. That's how mine worked out.

Just try to look for a case fan that has a good noise to airflow ratio.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 02:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zanjo View Post
Hi heXTT

Is the vdroop going to be a considerable problem when overclocking? From what I've read vdroop seems to be quite common yet people like yourself still manage to get some decent OCs on their CPU (surely not all of them modify the board to stop the vdroop.)

Thanks for all your responses!
While it is very annoying, it isn't a real problem. You just raise BIOS vCore until your actual core is satisfactory. The drop under load can make it difficult to reach 3.5+ without proper cooling, though. My Tuniq 120 does the job fine, maxing out all cores at around 72c, idling around 38c with a voltage of 1.5, 1.424 under load. That's with the BIOS Vcore set to 1.537. That gives you an idea of the amount of droop.

I've read the vdroop mod doesn't work at all on the P35 boards.
heXTT is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 05:46 PM   #20 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default Re: Q6600

Hi heXTT

Just out of curiosity, what is the voltage limit on your motherboard? My current Gigabyte board has a low voltage limit (actually it set my CPU to the limit by default.)

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.