pwmic, did i stick it on the right thing?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2007, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default pwmic, did i stick it on the right thing??

i was having issues with my computer emoting a high pitched siren and "slowing down" as i put it. the only way i have any knowledge that it slowed down was that the UPS fan slowed down to it's 25% range, and when the siren stopped the UPS's fan went back up to it's 50% range. also, the CPU, which is in no danger of overheating cools down when the pwmic gets to 60c.
anyway, thats beside the point. i knew something was thresholding because of temperature, and the highest temperature i have is the pwmic. the computer seems to slow down when the pwmic gets to 60c. i know that its rated for a LOT higher, but thats just what my system does lol. so, i stuck one of those "stick on heatsinks" on what i thought at the time was the pwmic from a picture i saw. dfi street is down at the moment so i image googled pwmic and found this picture, circling two things. a chip looking thing, and a yellow thing that i dont see how can be cooled.


so, it looks like the pwmic got a LITTLE benefit from the heatsink, but its still overheating to 60c (a lot lot slower though ^_^)

theres a picture of mbm5's dashboard, showing most of the relevant information. (and no, thats not idle lol. thats a few seconds after dual prime95's.

so basically im asking 1) you guy's opinion, did i do the right thing?
2) since this isnt working out, whats a better way to cool pwmic
3) or, better yet, since i know this thing is rated for almost 120c, how can i raise the the threshold where it slows down?
__________________

__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Ok what you put the heatsink on was the right thing and its rated to 120c. Being the threshold is 120c I wouldnt worry about almost 60. You should turn the alarm off and see what it really hits before the system starts slowing down and doing its thing.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

what is a pwmic?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Has to do with controlling the cpu voltage.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
Ok what you put the heatsink on was the right thing and its rated to 120c. Being the threshold is 120c I wouldnt worry about almost 60. You should turn the alarm off and see what it really hits before the system starts slowing down and doing its thing.
it starts slowing down AT 60. thats the problem. it goes straight up to 59 without a problem then as soon as it hits 60 theres a soft, high pitched alarm (but nothing you could hear from upstairs or anything) and then the CPU cools down to about 30, and the pwmic cools down to around 55, and the whole thing starts again. how do i get the pwmic to NOT threshold at 60?
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Did you check the bios? I also read something about a bios update if you havent do so already. I would say check dfi street but I remember something happened between them and dfi.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 471
Default

no i've never updated my bios or anything like that. im kinda nervous about that because i always hear horror stories about flashes!!!! is there any way to do it from a program while in the operating system? i thought i saw something like that once.
__________________
[CPU: e6600 @ 3300 MHz] // [MB: ASUS P5N-E SLi] // [RAM: Patriot 'eased latency' PC2-6400 @ DDR800 5-4-4-12-2T] // [GPU: 8800GTX @ 650/1000/1600 (volt modded)] // [HDD: 2x Cavier 500GiB stripe] // [Chassis: Thermaltake Armor VA8000 (black)] // [PSU: Aspire(Apevia) 680w] // [OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Cooling: water cooled GPU and CPU]
^ (9/7/2010): Ha, I remember when that was the stuff. My water cooling has since leaked and fried my mobo. So now I'm rocking an MSI laptop with an i5 430m :)
lazer_viking is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

IF someone put a pc in a minifridge and put a few boxes of baking soda (to remove moisture) in there do you think it would be good for it?

yes


no

maybe
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GreenMachine
IF someone put a pc in a minifridge and put a few boxes of baking soda (to remove moisture) in there do you think it would be good for it?

yes


no

maybe
Are you asking a question? if so you are stealing this guys thread, put it in your own.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

You just need a floppy and a floppy drive. Doing a bios update from windows can be very dangerous and its actually safer to do from a floppy. Unless your computer blows up or your power goes out the bios upgrade should be fine.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.