Putting Together my New Rig - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2005, 06:52 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
How about this. Send them all back and get 2 450gb 7200 drives. RAID them and your bumping the 1TB level !
I't sound pretty cool and you could brag about it, but who needs 1 TB of storage now. I can understand for the future, but future hard drives will be 10K RPM or more.
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:08 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I wouldn't mind having a little box with 4 250gb hard drives in it. Would make for a mean little storage server

I always would worry though, what if you have a 250gb full of info and it dies on you
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:17 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

thats why I only have a 40GB HD!
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 09:33 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Default

i thought if you put two drives in raid 1 and one crapped out you wouldn't lose any of your work/files...like if i send all drives back and geto two 200gb HD's that'd allow me 200gb of space which is plenty for windows apps and files and if i need storage in the future I can buy a larger drive for backup...so I'll send this stuff back and get two 200gb at 7200rpm and set them in raid 1??? NOt sure how to do that though...
Conan1981 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:20 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Hey guys...i am returning the three drives back to newegg and just ordered two 200gb seagate drives for a total of 239.40

Should i raid them and if so which style and how do i do that thanks!
Conan1981 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:27 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

yes you could add in another drive later if you needed to. Yes you should RAID them. Use RAID 0 if you want speed, but I one drive dies, you loose everything. Or if you want data protection, use RAID 1 and if one drive dies, just replace it and all your data if safe. You have to RAID them before you install windows in the BIOS I think. Im not really sure either. Check your mobo manuel.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:36 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

do this...take 2 raptors, then put them in raid0. next you take a mass 7200rpm hdd with sata and you use that as your storage.

put all programs on the raptors and all other stuff on the mass storage.

you can get two mass drives and put them in raid 1. i think if you get a little hdd and use it as a back up drive just incase the raptors crash.

by the way nice setup, almost identical to mine
20mm is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:42 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

I would use RAID 0, but it depends on how paranoid you are about loosing data and how important the data is. I would just have a real hard time buying 400gb of storage but only getting 200gb out of it. I have never had a hd die on me though. The one in my last computer was over 7 years old and it is still working.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:46 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

i have...it sucks...lost EVERYTHING. i'll never buy wd again, i've had them die on me left and right...meh.
20mm is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 02:55 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

i have had rather good experiences with western digital, maxtor is the worst in my opinion, worthless hard drives, mine died in a month and maxtor just sent me an apology but nothing done. Western digital sent me a new drive when mine died within 4 months.
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.