Pushing my X2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2006, 11:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Pushing my X2

So, in the mist of my procrastination of my HW, i decided to see how far I could push my X2. Now earlyer I just kept it at 2.5, because I knew it was safe because i've seen many others ahiieve it.

Then I visited this other OC forum, and people were getting this sucker to 3.0Gghz w/ real good water cooling. But unfortunitly, I don't have that.

So I opend both windows, opend the side panel, and clipped a room fan blowing cold air right into it. Right now as i'm talking, she's running at 24C @ 1.46V 265.04x10

In BIOS, it wont let you go passed 1.5. So I think I may just keep it at 1.46 and see how far it can go, then go to 1.5 if I have to.

Now I dont think i'm going to keep it this high, ill probably just set it back down to 2.5. Since these arent everyday cirumstances.

-I wont always have the windows open
-I try and keep my panels on
-I usually dont have the fan on there
-Plus summer's fastly approaching us

Plus, I dont like having the voltage that high.


Anyone wanna take a guess on how far I can push it before it poops out?

I'm guessing ill be lucky to get it passed 267 or 268.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 11:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

whered u buy the 3800 at?
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 11:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

I bought the X2 3800 @ PC club, back in like late sept. early oct.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 07:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

2.5 Ghz is already pretty good - charlie
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 07:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

If its running at 24ºC, then you have ALOT of room to oc, you should stop when your idle temp gets to around 35ºC.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Idle temperature doesn't mean crap...you need to stress the core and determine your load temperature in order to determine your ceiling, but in all honesty 1.46vcore or even 1.5vcore is not very much at all
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-15-2006, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Well see the moment I started up 3DMark06 it crashed. So I set it back down to 2.62 and that's stable. See the temp thing isn't whats stoping me from going any higher, its the fact that it isn't stable. I know I could get atlesat 2.7ish without it getting too hot, but it wont boot into windows when I do do that. I'm thinking it may be the fact that the PSU is a 460W and im running all that crap on it. Or maybe the memory? And the VCore wont go passed 1.5.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.