Pushing the Limits - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2015, 05:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Thumbs up Pushing the Limits

Hello everyone.

I am looking to push an X3 720 I bought some time ago a little further than the 3.4GHz I have it running at. Studying information on this chip and overclocking in general; I have concluded I am missing something. I was able to unlock a fourth core and keep it stable after toying with ACC. Currently I have the CPU running at 3.4GHz @ 1.4875v. I understand that unlocked cores typically had whacky voltage tolerances, and that they would hold back a CPU overclock depending on just how twitchy they were. However, even at stock core configurations I could never push this chip higher than 3.5GHz (should add that it was never perfectly stable). Pushing the voltage to 1.55v still couldn't get me into the OS (Windows 8) at 3.6 or above. Temps don't SEEM to be an issue; so what am I not doing that is preventing me from pushing this thing higher?

The motherboard is NOT built for overclocking; and doesn't have the best power delivery. But 3.4GHz still seems just a smidge under what I should be getting. Unless I really have hit the roof of this chip; because that's what I'm about to chalk it up to. Thanks for your help; and if you need any more info, just let me know.
__________________

Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 05:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Pushing the Limits

How high can you push it with just the standard three cores?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 06:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Pushing the Limits

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
How high can you push it with just the standard three cores?
3.5GHz, but it wasn't completely stable. Above that; I could not even get into the OS.
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 06:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: Pushing the Limits

Gonna be your board. Like I said on FB, I pushed a 720BE to 4.0 but this was on good boards with good cooling.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 12:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Pushing the Limits

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Gonna be your board. Like I said on FB, I pushed a 720BE to 4.0 but this was on good boards with good cooling.
Oh, well. For a general PC/personal server I suppose I could do much worse. I don't suppose tweaking the NB can improve OC stability?
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 06:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: Pushing the Limits

Tweaking the NB will reduce overall clock stability. The weakest part of a Phenom 2 is the IMC and messing with the NB messes with this bus too.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 03:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Pushing the Limits

Interesting; I'll remember that when I start messing with my X6. Thanks.
__________________

Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pushing my X2 TheOtis Overclocking and Modding 6 03-15-2006 08:13 PM
Debating pushing it a bit further hednik Overclocking and Modding 3 03-04-2006 02:47 PM
Pushing ur Graphics Card Jayare012 Overclocking and Modding 5 01-12-2006 02:40 AM
Pushing this little beater video card to the edge.. Chrisman88990 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 01-14-2005 08:08 AM
Pushing the GT to the max GameGURU Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 11-23-2004 10:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.