PSU - What watt? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2005, 10:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6
Default PSU - What watt?

Can anyone tell me how I can work out what wattage PSU I will need?

I plan on having:

S939 mobo
512Mb RAM
AMD 3200+ or 3400+ (may be overclocked)
2 HDDs
1 DVD writer
1 AGP or PCI-E video card
a few fans, etc
__________________

bobd_uk is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 10:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Antec 400 watt will suffice
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

A decent 420watt at minimum.

I run a very simmilar setup but with more than few fans (13) on a 420watt thermaltake td-420ad and it's going great. And i have an extra 512 of ram.

This is exactly what i run on my 420
2 WD 7200RPM harddrives
13+ fans
AMD 3400+ OC'ed to 2.47
CD Burner
Asus A8V OC'ed to 265ish
2x 512 meg ram
6600GT OC'ed
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 11:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 119
Default

at LEAST 400, check my specs, i got an antec 400, and im lookin to upgrade to on o these,

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...e=pricegrabber
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...C-PRICEGRABBER
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...C-pr1c3grabb3r
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...C-pr1c3grabb3r
__________________
AMD 64 3400+ s939 / ASUS A8V Deluxe (K8T800Pro) / Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 (2 x 256) Corsair Value DDR 400 (2 x 512) / ATI Radeaon 9600XT / Seagate 120 GB/
deadweight is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Thread closed. Double posted in hardware section.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.