PSU watts for water cooling? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2004, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default PSU watts for water cooling?

Hey im new to this forum but not new to computers. I built my Computer. Here are the specs of it.
intel 2.66 GHZ
Asus P4se
768MB of ram
ATI readon 9600 pro 128MB
1 40 GB HD
1 120 HD HD
Xaser III case

Here is my question. I recently ordered a Thermaltake Aquarius III Water cooling system. I currently have a 350 Watt PSU. The Water cooling kit connects to the PSU and it uses up 200 Watts. I used this caculator located http://www.challenge-my.com/goopsulator/ there. It said my comp uses 310 watts. I dont think thats right. But anyway, If that is correct, Would i need a 510 watt PSU? Would you think more since i have neon lights and such in my case? I ordered it and it should be here any day now so a quick response would be great. Thanks
__________________

Monster00 is offline  
Old 03-20-2004, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

Ok, Im thinking you'll need like a 500 wat psu atleast based on ur stuff since the cooling takes alot. What...im thinking. Thats a guess..basically but ur other specs don't seem like JUICED UP so i wouldn't exactly know. I guess ur water-cooling is the only thing that'll take alot of power.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 03-20-2004, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

ok well Do u think i should get more since i have other stuff in the case? Like cold cathode fans which it didn't really say on the caculator and a neon light? I dont think they sell anything between a 500-550. So you think i should get a 550 watt?
Monster00 is offline  
Old 03-20-2004, 11:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Imaminuteman04
Default

yes get a 550 ... you dont want an under rated psu... even slightly you will have alot of problems
Imaminuteman04 is offline  
Old 03-20-2004, 11:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 568
Default

spend the extra buck to be safe..i mean if u go under 550 n something happens ull be losing alot more than the price dif between the 550 and the rest
guess123 is offline  
Old 03-20-2004, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

I think antec recently made a nice 550. Yeah, here it is... http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-910&depa=0
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-20-2004, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

yea, im gonna get it tomorow from microcenter (a computer store on Long island) Since my aquarius III will be here during the week, i dont wanna order 1 becuase it may be here before the PSU gets here and then i will be pissed =/ But i will get it tomorrow, hook it up and i will be good. Also this is a kinda stupid question but i never delt with such a high wattage before. Since im gonna get a 550 and im only hooking it up for my computer without the water cooling kit, will it harm it at all?
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 12:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Imaminuteman04
Default

no... 550 is just the maximum output... the actually power consumed by your computer will still equal whatever it was before so there is no way you can harm it ... unless you hook it up wrong or something.
Imaminuteman04 is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 02:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

o ok thanks im gonna go get it now. I will tell u how it is after i install it.
Monster00 is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 08:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

ok... well i think i jsut burnt out my CPU. I replaced the PSU and then my CPU temp just sky rocketed and thats it. It shut down. I have no idea what to do now. I dunno if its my CPU or mobo. It went up to 157 and it shut down. I tryed to replace my PSU with the old one but nothing happened. When i try to reboot it, a black screen just comes up and does nothing.
__________________

Monster00 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.