PSU / MB question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2005, 01:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
Question PSU / MB question

Greetings all,

I'm finally home for the summer, and have all my parts ready to go... but noticed a potential problem. I have the following PSU and MOBO:

AeroCool Aero-550W


So the problem I see is that my PSU has a 20 pin connector for power to the MOBO, while the MOBO has a 24 pin slot. I was thinking of getting this, and hoping it works:
ISTAR 24pin to 20pin ATX converter

Now I've heard that this may cause problems, so I was wondering if anyone has done anything similar. Note, at this time, I am NOT using two video cards/SLI, if that would make a difference.

Thanks in advance, you guys are great!


Condar is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 01:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

Did you notice that that is a 24 to 20 pin adapter, and not a 20 to 24 pin, like you want?

Now, both of those parts, I would get neither of them. For AMD you want to go with DFI. Might i suggest this:

And for a PSU, you should really go with Antec or OCZ, somewhere along those lines.
I have this one, havent installed it, but it looks damn sexy! And it's OCZ, and you cannot really go wrong with OCZ.

There, some really killer peices, and still spending about the same amount.

Him is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 01:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

Oh, and most new GOOD PSU's come with a 24 pin connector. You can unclip the extra 4 pins if you want to, and it becomes 20..

And never, EVER, under any circumstances, get that adapter.
Him is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006

He already bough them.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

I see, I did not know that. Well than, return your PSU for a different one if they let you. Explain the situation, your ordered the wrong one and you would like to get a compatible one. They will charge you shipping going to them, and probably comming from them as well. But do not get that adapter, unless it is a temporary solution and you intend on getting a new PSU soon. Most boards need that extra 4 pins to supply to proper voltage. Without it, the board is underpowered, and it could lead to it dying.
Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.