PSU: Cutting the clutter (literally) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2006, 12:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Psshhh, people complain about how "pretty" Macs are, and that you pay for "pretty," then they go home to their low-rider flashy light-up case with spinners and a fog machine in it. In reality, Let's compare laptops.

Macbook Pro:


Dell "XPS" laptop:



The Mac is a grey square with an Apple symbol in the middle. The Dell has all sorts of flashy lights and glowing speakers, brushed metal outside with all sorts of stickers on it and it weighs about 16 pounds and is like 4 inches thick.

I think the Dell is a bit more extravagant than the Apple.

I just like fast computers, I don't care much what they look like, as long as they aren't "attention getters."

:beard:
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 12:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Those two laptops are in a sexually suggestive positon, so I think that makes your post invalid
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 12:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Why do you think I picked it? Muahaha.
The General is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 01:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WorldIndustries
Makes it a helluva' lot easier when connecting/disconnecting/adding/removing parts too.
cutting off all the chords you don't use makes this easier!?!?! now i could be wrong but i'm pretty sure it makes it HARDER because then you can't use the ones that aren't there anymore.

I'd say if you're really into a clean case then just buy a modular PSU. you can still use the other one in case something happens and you won't be ruining it and having to upgrade to a new PSU w/ your new video card...etc
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 01:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

But anyway, anyone know if it's safe to cut off some of the connectors?
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 01:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

It's safer not to.
The General is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 01:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/...m/977008010831

Found this, I'll probably do it after I leave my PSU in my closet for a few days to discharge.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 01:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jordo_99
cutting off all the chords you don't use makes this easier!?!?! now i could be wrong but i'm pretty sure it makes it HARDER because then you can't use the ones that aren't there anymore.

I'd say if you're really into a clean case then just buy a modular PSU. you can still use the other one in case something happens and you won't be ruining it and having to upgrade to a new PSU w/ your new video card...etc
No, I don't think you get it. I don't mind leaving a few extra molex connectors, maybe even a PCI-e, but there's are literally like a dozen extra connectors in my case not being used...
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 04:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

ok. i gotcha. that makes a lot more sense then. good luck w/ it.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 07:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

just one question tho...what happens when u get a new "toy" for it, and you dont have the connector for it? ya cant put it back on, and have it as good as it was...youd end up ***** slappin urself for cuttin em off
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.