ps2 pc - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2006, 07:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

well i guess thats why you dont gut psus. but this machine will act more as a music sever ect. when its not on the road i intend for it to act as a cleverly disguised media center pc of sorts. anyway i still cant find out what socket the intel mobo has. since there are 3 different sockets that pentum Ms can be its kinda hard to tell. i might jst stick with one of the VIAs anyway.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 08:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

i am guessing socket 479 but not sure.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 09:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

i changed my mind im going with a via based board. that way i dont have to go searching for expensive intel cpus, its not like im going to do anything heavy on it either.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 01:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 56
Default

atleast get something semi decent
deaduar3 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 09:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

ok so ive come down to 2 different motherboards. they both have some nice features.
http://www.via.com.tw/en/products/ma...erboard_id=400

http://www.mini-box.com/EPIA-MII12000?sc=8&category=99

the big differences here are that the first uses a c7 core and DDR2 memory and the second uses a c3 core and DDR. does anyone know if there are any major performance differences between them? i like them both but cant decide.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 12:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I'm pretty sure at 6200 will do, remember you only need to run Halo at 640x480, and it used to run pretty fast on my 9600 pro.
The General is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 08:08 PM   #17 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

yeah, but im really hamperd by space. i found a half height MX4000 laying around i think it will suffice, just one more thing that i dont have to buy.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 08:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

very nice mod your gonna get going there, can't wait to see the finish.. i just may try to mod a nintendo or dreamcast =P ..... although the nintendo has already been done
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 08:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

www.mini-itx.com check thier projects. chances are someone has done a dreamcast. one guy did a ps2 but he had to flip the mobo upside down to fit it in for case. i might try nano itx instead, although that is borderline windows usablilty. there wouldnt be much of a point there.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 07:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default parts for the ps2

k after some research, you should be good with these parts:

Mini ITX 1.3ghz MOBO-182.99
ram

on this page, u want the one at the very top, and the 7th one down for a powersupply.

DVD BURNER-62.99
slimline ide adapter
sata notebook hdd
sata power cable

and

this for your the video card.

and that should just about cover it

EDIT::OOPS...good thing i checked the list...i chose the wrong ram, well >>HERE<< is the right ram^_^

huh, i might even use these parts in my xbox shell, would make a purty nice box
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.