ps2 pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2006, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default ps2 pc

ok so ive got an old broken play station 2 laying around, i got to thinking it would be pretty sweet if i could fit a pc into it. i can imagine the looks on the xbox fanboys faces when im playing halo on it
so anyways any recomendations for motherboards? i considered miniitx but they are expensive, do you think i could cram an itx or a micro atx in one?
__________________

zmatt is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

ok so i found a nice board on newegg. what do you guys think?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813181022
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 08:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

lol i was thinkin bout doing this mod tooo.....
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 08:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

trouble with doing that is that you will need a pretty decent graphics card to make halo look good and matched up a good enough cpu, that via 1.3 isnt really good enough to game on. I think it would be possible but very very hard. maybes get a riser card, to mount the graphics card parrallel to the motherboard?
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

they do have socket 370 and 754 mobos, but they require fans, and the ps2 has limited space. is the via really that bad? i know its not a gaming cpu but halo only needs a 733mhz cpu and this one is 1.3ghz.

here is an intel board with intel itntegrated. ive gotten halo to run on that chipset before, its not that pretty but its decent.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813202001


BTW i dont need this thing to play any new games, it will mostly act as a backup machine, media box, ect. so im not expecting much although if it can play games comparable to halo thats a plus.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Its a good idea but its gonna cost a bit to do so. Its really not worth it. If it was a xbox it would be much easier.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

what would be the point of modding an xbox though? all it is is a 700mhz celeron with 64mb of ram, where is the fun in that? if it already is a pc then there is no point IMO. i have a broken ps2 and i wouldnt mind spending about $200 or $300 on making it into a pc.


BTW does anyone know the socket type of that intel board? newegg dosent say, it only says that its pentium M, but they come in different sockets.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I would just look at demensions for it from the company and compare motherboards. The xbox I am saying is easier cause you could actually fit a full on pc in it.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 10-09-2006, 09:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

true the xbox case is huge. unfortunately i dont have one laying around. meh maybe one day one will fall into my lap. i will measure the ps2 tonight.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 07:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

i got an xbox, a matx mobo fits like a charm, dvd/hdd mounted to top, pci riser from an old apple for my geforce mx4000, exhaust fan on the left side, buttons/light on front=funtional, the 2 right ports are the xbox ports modded for usb, and the left 2 are usb. little cramped, but it worked(ps had to be gutted and hung from the top of the case...guess someting fell because it went into stanby, i went out back, came back, and it was on, but the power light was off, and the hdd light was flashing. i restarted it, and still...so here i am 2 months later, with a gutted xbox case on my desk. needs a mobo, and a ps
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.