Proving the 7300gt's worthyness - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2006, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default Proving the 7300gt's worthyness

I just started overclocking my eVGA 7300gt 512mb moderately.

Here is where I am at:

700 memory clock (32%)
500 Core clock (43%)

Now I scored: 71.13FPS on CS:source video stress test with max every setting (AA, HDR etc) at 1280x768.

This crushes my old x1600pro 512, which only scored 55fps when overclocked at these settings.

Im using stock cooling...im looking to push this thing even further, any way to volt mod? Best cooling solution for this small card?

Any feedback on how this 7300gt has done is appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Those are pretty awsome clocks for a 7300gt, I'm surprised that it didn't artifact much earlier.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

coolbits let me go 710 and 550, but it was artifacting pretty bad

anyone got a guide on voltmodding a 7300gt? ive seen 7900gt and 7600gt but not the 7300gt

Also, still cant find a cooling solution for this thing...is there an AC silencer that fits? Im not sure the zalman line of coolers would work...the holes seem to be too close together on the card...
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

ahh looks like memory was reason why it was artifacting.

I got it up to:

550 core
700 memory

This is lookin good...
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

ok....

http://www.pcmoddingmy.com/forum/ind...showtopic=2556

wow...just wow
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 11:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by blaackoran
ok....

http://www.pcmoddingmy.com/forum/ind...showtopic=2556

wow...just wow

WOW

Should have gotten one of those instead of my 6800GS
Shumway is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 11:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

bah it quit ocing at 555, 710.

Im gonna voltmod it now lol.

It only cost 70$ so idont feel bad if it melts
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 09:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by blaackoran
bah it quit ocing at 555, 710.

Im gonna voltmod it now lol.

It only cost 70$ so idont feel bad if it melts
Good luck man dont mean to jack thread i was G3 at 03' Joe rocked there ... BTW post some results and pics of the mod
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 10:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Eh... 128bit mem bus.. 8 pixel pipelines.... it's still better than what I got though, so good luck
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 02:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

dude, get a vga liquid cooler, and see how far u can push that little demon
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.