Processor Speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2007, 03:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Default Processor Speed

This may sound like a stupid question, but what happened to processor speeds?

Why aren't we seeing more of a push towards 3GHz or 4GHz processors with new computers. Everything seems mostly between 2 and 3. Apple Mac Pros top out at 3 GHz. Dell is similar. Are these new Core Duos so much better that 2.33 GHz is ten times better than the same speed two years ago?

I know it's a vague question, and no one may want to deal with answering it. But everything I find online is an article from 2000 or something. I can't get a up to date explanation.

Thanks.
__________________

phaedo5 is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 03:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Processor Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by phaedo5 View Post
This may sound like a stupid question, but what happened to processor speeds?

Why aren't we seeing more of a push towards 3GHz or 4GHz processors with new computers. Everything seems mostly between 2 and 3. Apple Mac Pros top out at 3 GHz. Dell is similar. Are these new Core Duos so much better that 2.33 GHz is ten times better than the same speed two years ago?

I know it's a vague question, and no one may want to deal with answering it. But everything I find online is an article from 2000 or something. I can't get a up to date explanation.

Thanks.
processors are improving in the amount of instructions they can process per clock cycle.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 04:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Processor Speed

yeah, the Core 2 Duo processors are far more efficient than the Pentium 4. they're not 10 times better at the same clock speed but they certainly are a heck of a lot better. the e6300 (1.83GHz, the baby of the "Conroes") is probably better than pretty much every model of Pentium 4/D.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 04:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default Re: Processor Speed

Say you have always owned a semi automatic pistol, which was nice, but today you went out and bought a shotgun. You would kill crows with the pistol, but it wasnt very fast, because you had to kill them one at a time, but now with the shotgun, you can kill about 3 or 4 at a time. You are using less ammunition, but are killing more crows.

That is why the Conroe's use up less ammunition... er, megahertz in order to do the same amount of work.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 08:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Processor Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dexaroni View Post
Say you have always owned a semi automatic pistol, which was nice, but today you went out and bought a shotgun. You would kill crows with the pistol, but it wasnt very fast, because you had to kill them one at a time, but now with the shotgun, you can kill about 3 or 4 at a time. You are using less ammunition, but are killing more crows.

That is why the Conroe's use up less ammunition... er, megahertz in order to do the same amount of work.
i had a very messy representation in my mind from reading this
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 10:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Processor Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dexaroni View Post
Say you have always owned a semi automatic pistol, which was nice, but today you went out and bought a shotgun. You would kill crows with the pistol, but it wasnt very fast, because you had to kill them one at a time, but now with the shotgun, you can kill about 3 or 4 at a time. You are using less ammunition, but are killing more crows.

That is why the Conroe's use up less ammunition... er, megahertz in order to do the same amount of work.
YEAH. crows suck.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 01:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Processor Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
YEAH. crows suck.
I like crows. They're some of the smartest birds around.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 01:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: Processor Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I like crows. They're some of the smartest birds around.
I only hope your kidding!
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 02:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Processor Speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
I only hope your kidding!
Hes not. Crows are/is one of the more intelliegent type/species of birds.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-28-2007, 03:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: Processor Speed

Clock speed is like horsepower...

If you can't get torque to the wheels, you're just blowing smoke. They're just putting the same size engines in lighter cars with better transmissions.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.