Processor Overheating?

Status
Not open for further replies.

chaser226

Solid State Member
Hi I've been having trouble with my processor. I searched the net and found this forum, I hope you guys could give me a hand.

Well basically my processor is 'overheating', and it only occurs when i'm playing my new game final fantasy xi.
I recently formated my computer and reinstalled ffxi, but when i started playing again intel active monitor would alert me that my processor is overheating at about 70 degrees celcius. Now this never happened before I formated my hard drive so I find this very wierd. What could be causing this and is there anything I can do to fix this?

Thank you.

Processor: Genuine Intel Pentium 4 Processor 1.40 GHz
RAM: 384 rambus

Regular tempuratures:

Processor zone: 42*C
System zone 1: 34*C
System zone 2: 40*C

Alright

First of all, welcome to tech-forums.

With your question, I doubt your formatting of your hard drive could have caused this problem.

Do you have a fan based heatsink on your processor? Check to see if its running if you do.

Are all your case fans running properly?

Are you overclocking your processor?

Do you remember doing anything else before or after you formatted your computer to it?

My current analysis of the situation states that your Processor heat sink is either defective or not rated for your processor and may need to be upgraded, don't take immediate action until myself or another can accuratly diagnose your problem.