Which Processor is better for gaming? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2005, 05:03 PM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by neoDS
whats a sticky?
Something I produce on an hourly basis.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 05:26 PM   #42 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

lol, oh my dale....don't know what way to take that. A sticky Neods is usually the first few posts in a particular fourm such as the Hardware fourm here in Tech Fourms but here there titled IMPORTANT:. When people post they show up under the sticky/s and stickys always stay at the top of the particular fourm.
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 07:41 PM   #43 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Dale, go whip your hands off... A Sticky is a thread, which explains a certain task. Look at the top of the OC Forum. You have the OC introduction, and WC introduction.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 03:33 PM   #44 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
THe San Diego is for the higher end AMD 64 and the Vience is for the lower end AMD 64s. When I say lower end I dont mean worse, I mean 3200+ and up, where as the San Diego is 3800+ and up. Vience and San Diego are both awsome, its just the difference of FSB I believe.
I'm sorry but I have to correct this because it's way off.

Venice and San Diego cores are pretty much identical, same SSE3 instruction capabilities, same memory controller with 4 DIMM slots at DDR400 speeds, and 90nm architechture which supports higher clock speeds. Only difference between the two is the Sandy has the larger 1MB cache. 3700+, 4000+, FX-53, FX-55, FX-57 are all San Diego based, 3000+, 3200+, 3500+, 3800+ are all Venice based. They all still have the same 2000MT/s HTT link speed.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 05:51 PM   #45 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to mercedesbenz411 Send a message via Yahoo to mercedesbenz411
Default

amd. cus it so sad that my laptop amd 64 3000+ is faster than my friends desktop pentium 4 2.8ghz
i mean really, thats a little sad.
mercedesbenz411 is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 06:08 PM   #46 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

It's a 3000+, it's supposed to be faster than a P4 2.8ghz, it probably costs more money too. NOt to mention you overclocked it...
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 08:27 PM   #47 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Codeine
Apokalipse, your wrong man. FSB not only sends data to your RAM, but other computer entities. Like i said, it communicates from the processor, to other components. Such as RAM, HDD, and PCI. RAM is among one of the few components your FSB communicates with. Thats just a small portion of FSB occupation. FSB has been removed for the On Die Memery Controler. HT is a single path connection for computer components to communicate with hardware devices. So in a sense, its not really a fsb. FSB was used for striaght communication reasons. HT just set's the path for bytes of data, so it can channel to hardware entities.

When you say MCC, are you refering to Multiversion concurrency control?
no I'm not. the FSB is for RAM only
the South Side Bus is where data goes to and from other parts.
your motherboard typically has 3 main chips. the BIOS, the northbridge (which has the MCC or Memory controller chip) and the Southbridge
the northbridge is for RAM, the bus between it and the CPU is the FSB
the southbridge is for all other parts, the bus between it and the CPU is the south side bus

K8 motherboards have HTT (not HT) which means the memory controller is on the CPU itself. as far as I'm aware, they still have a southbridge which they use for all other components

and dale, the Pentium 4 2.8 is actually more expensive than the Sempron, Athlon XP and Athlon 64 3000+ (754 and 939)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 08:53 PM   #48 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 9
Default

ok everyone needs to quit argueing. i asked a question and many people answered it. now you are argueing about stuff that has almost nothing to do with the question i asked. if you are going to argue, please do it over PM instead of keeping this thread alive when the answer has been given numerous times
neoDS is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 09:03 PM   #49 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I wasn't trying to argue, I was simply correcting people
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 09:05 PM   #50 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

That sounds like a call for a mod to close

PM Beedub and tell him to close this for you then.

Quote:
they still have a southbridge which they use for all other components
technically it's just 'the chipset' since theres no longer a north and south bridge in particular......but yeah that chipset controls the aspects of your hard drive, PCI slot and even graphics communications I believe as people were putting their cards in the bottom PCI-E 8x slot and it turned out it was keeping their chipset cooler and giving them more stable OC's......but as far as I'm aware the primary HTT bus is purely for communication between the CPU and memory and then as been said the chipset does all other communications because it's already enough to handle all the requests unlike the memory being handled as we noticed it was able to be improved
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.