which processes to remove? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2006, 02:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default which processes to remove?

Just got a new system and setted it all up yesterday, disabled some of the services that arent needed but as you will see from my screen shot i still have 40 which i think is over the average amount? my old system had 29-31.
I mean ok, i may have other stuff installed on the new pc thats in the process list but is there any on here that you can say "no you dont need that"?
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Why did you buy a Compaq????
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

best bet, this is what i did, go to msconfig, servise tab i think, then google EVERYTHING, see if its worth keeping, voila, takes a while but theres a good few things you can get rid of

i think the svchost is norton?, i use adaware works a treat
harry18 is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 05:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Anything you turn off under the "startup" tab in MSCONFIG is completely safe.

To end processes manually, click on the "Username" category, and then find the "Compaq_Owner" group (for you). You can end everything EXCEPT 'explorer.exe' and 'taskmgr.exe'

svchost is NOT norton. svchost is an important task, do not remove it.

To disable services, do not use MSCONFIG. Instead, type "services.msc" into run and use that. This way, you can set each Service to a couple different states, and completely disable them, etc. Do NOT touch services if you do not know what they do. You could basically ruin your installation of Windows if you do the wrong ones.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 05:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by harry18
i think the svchost is norton?, i use adaware works a treat
It can't be. Norton products have never been near my harddrive, and i have svchost under processes.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 05:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

svchost is merely a process, or rather, a manager of a grouping of processes, svchost is used to better debug and control information coming from these processes, things of that nature.
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"][COLOR=\"Red\"]Case:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MountainMods U2-UFO[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]PSU:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] PCP&C 1kW EPS12V[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Motherboard:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] ASUS P5NSLI[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] (Yeah, I know!)[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Processor:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Retail Core 2 Duo X6800[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] Week 26/B2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]RAM:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev.2 DDR2-800[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]VGA:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 1x eVGA 7950GX2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Sound Card:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] SB X-Fi XM[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]HDD:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x Raptor 150GB in RAID 0/1x 500GB WD Caviar[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Optical:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Plextor DVD-R DL PX-716AL[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Speakers:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Logitech z-5500[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Fans:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 9x YL D12SM-12[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Lime\"]Water-Cooling:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MCP355 w/AlphaCool top/PA120.3/AQX MP-05 SP LE/Silverprop Cyclone NexusSX chipset block[/COLOR]
[/SIZE]
dwarf is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Great stuff, thanks guys

Oh and this new pc did actually come with norton 2006 on it but the first thing i did was totally uninstall it
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 06:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 154
Default

if I were you I'd just do a fresh format, I hate bloatware from prebuilt systems.
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"][COLOR=\"Red\"]Case:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MountainMods U2-UFO[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]PSU:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] PCP&C 1kW EPS12V[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Motherboard:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] ASUS P5NSLI[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] (Yeah, I know!)[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Processor:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Retail Core 2 Duo X6800[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Blue\"] Week 26/B2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]RAM:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x1GB OCZ Platinum Rev.2 DDR2-800[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]VGA:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 1x eVGA 7950GX2[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Sound Card:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] SB X-Fi XM[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]HDD:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 2x Raptor 150GB in RAID 0/1x 500GB WD Caviar[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Optical:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Plextor DVD-R DL PX-716AL[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Speakers:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] Logitech z-5500[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Red\"]Fans:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] 9x YL D12SM-12[/COLOR]
[COLOR=\"Lime\"]Water-Cooling:[/COLOR][COLOR=\"Black\"] MCP355 w/AlphaCool top/PA120.3/AQX MP-05 SP LE/Silverprop Cyclone NexusSX chipset block[/COLOR]
[/SIZE]
dwarf is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 06:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

if you want better help re-arrange that picture so we can see one list of user processes and list of system processes, helps to decide whats cr@p and whats not.


-Jo.

BTW Sometimes there are hidden processes, I suggest to download a custom process manager. forgot which I used to use...but google one or use download.com
Yoad is offline  
Old 07-07-2006, 06:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

well like i said i disabled some services that i know arent needed, and then i did what craze d said and sorted everything into my personal processes and i could see the ones i needed like my anti virus/firewall, msn, stuff like that, but i got it down to 37 now so thats abit better.

Im going to try and find that custom process manager that you were talking about now.
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.