Which proc do you vote for? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: OS Technologies Quiz #6
POST, Bootstrap Loader, IO.SYS, MSDOS.SYS, COMMAND.COM, CONFIG.SYS 1 10.00%
POST, Bootstrap Loader, IO.SYS, CONFIG.SYS, COMMAND.COM, MSDOS.SYS, AUTOEXEC.BAT 1 10.00%
POST, Bootstrap Loader, IO.SYS, CONFIG.SYS, MSDOS.SYS, COMMAND.COM, AUTOEXEC.BAT 6 60.00%
POST, Bootstrap Loader, IO.SYS, CONFIG.SYS, MSDOS.SYS, AUTOEXEC.BAT, COMMAND.COM 2 20.00%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2004, 01:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default Which proc do you vote for?

You decide
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD¬ĪR/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 03:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

FX
__________________

__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 06:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

64 bit, windows compatible, with integrated FSB! WHos picking Intel when the AMD is obviously the right choice.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 07:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

The AMD and Intel EE are too close performance wise to justify the EE's price.Go with the AMD 64.
chog is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 08:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
paintballer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RyanOldw83
FX
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Biostar T-Force 550
2GB Gskill Ram
250GB Western Digital
200GB Western Digital
2 DVD Burners
Apevia 500W PSU
XION Solaris Case
XFX GeForce 8600GT
Hanns∑G HG-191RP 19" 2ms Widescreen LCD
Ubuntu, Windows XP
________________________

Acer Aspire 5570-2609
paintballer is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 06:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

although the AMD is the better price EE still outperforms
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 10:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

bah, go with the athlon 64 3400+ a better deal at $416.00
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 01:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Default AMD or Intel

Even though the AMD is cheaper and everyone brags who it is 64 bit, understand that a 64bit Operating system is coming out until at least 2006 (Windows Longhorn) so AMD will never be as usefull as it can be until you get a 64 bit O/S.

Intel is very expensive hence the reason why i would wait and just get a cheaper Intel like the 2.4C and just overclock it to 3.4 which has been done with ease.
unknownperson08 is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 04:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default

Windows Xp 64 bit is out in beta stage for free

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/6...ds/upgrade.asp
__________________
[size=2]
AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC
WD Caviar 200GB SATA-II
Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
CoolerMaster Wavemaster Case

|P|A|I|N|T|B|A|L|L|
my anti-drug
BlindApex is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

That's pretty cool actually. Haha, Intel blows no matter what they do.
__________________

__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD¬ĪR/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.