problems overclocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2010, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default problems overclocking

Why the hang can't I overclock my puter beyond 2.6??? I read all these threads that my CPU can go to like 3.0. Is it my RAM that is paired with my CPU that is causing my probs? I am new at overclocking and is getting frustrated!
__________________

__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: problems overclocking

Are you using an aftermarket heatsink or the stock heatsink that came with the cpu?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 05:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: problems overclocking

I have a gigantic cooler. I forget the name; but it's one of the best ones.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 05:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: problems overclocking

Do you have Hardware Monitor or another Program like RealTemp to monitor your temperatures?
http://www.cpuid.com/download/hwmoni..._115_setup.exe
Do you have CPU-Z downloaded to keep tabs on your actual cpu and memory speeds?
http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpuz/cpuz64_153.zip
Do you have the latest Bios Update installed for your mobo?

You should also download LinX (stability testing).
http://www.youwatched.com/datajay/linx(0.64).7z

Post a screenshot of LinX, Hardware Monitor, CPU-Z (the cpu and memory tabs, you'll have to open CPU-Z twice to show both windows) running so we can see what's happening. And if you would tell us what bios settings adjustments you have made it would also help.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-31-2010, 08:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
matt123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 119
Default Re: problems overclocking

check the CPU temperature using SpeedFan and post the temp reading.
|MG| SpeedFan 4.40 Download
__________________
One Machine can do the work of 50 ordinary men.
But no machine can do the work of one extraordinary man.
---Elbert Hubbard
matt123 is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 08:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: problems overclocking

Speedfan will work but it would be my last choice. Hardware Monitor will show you the temperatures and so much more (and it will help to see the so much more).
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 04:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: problems overclocking

I have a really dumb question. How do you post a screen shot of these things?? I tried to run the linX and it would install. All other monitors are installed
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 04:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: problems overclocking

a couple things that might be going screwy that i noticed. with the CPUID program my CPU fan speed0 goes to zero and than to 15,000, back to zero and then 15,00, so on and so forth.
Another thing is that with the CPU-Z program i noticed that my multiplier always changes for X6 toX9 changing my speed from 2.4 to 1.6. it just goes back and forth like the CPU fan.
This can't be normal can it??
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 05:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: problems overclocking

You can post a screenshot by first taking the screenshot either with an image capture program, or just simply pressing PRNT SCRN button and then pasting it to photoshop or ms paint. Upload the image to Photobucket, or something like that, and then

The reason the multiplier is changing is because you have Cool n Quiet enabled, (or whatever the intel equivilent is). This will throttle your processor down to conserve power when you're not using it for intensive applications. The fan on the other hand, I have no idea. It sounds like the fan is throttling due to the rise in temperature of when your processor speed changes. I could be wrong, it might just be a wonky fan.

EDIT: Instead of double posting, try to use the edit button in the lower right corner of your previous post. It's sort of against the rules of the forum if I recall correctly.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 02-01-2010, 06:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: problems overclocking

The cpu fluctuations are a result of Intel Speedstep and the CxE Function. These are Power Saving features that should be disabled for overclocking (disable them in the bios). The Fan fluctuations are also/probably the result of a bios setting, namely the fan speed setting. It is probably set to automatically adjust the fan speed based upon the cpu temperature. So with the power saving features constantly changing the cpu speed, which directly effects the cpu temperture and the fan setting on automatic, a wide variation in fan speed is to be expected Set the fan speed to Manual / 100%


Creating The Image

First of all you will need to locate the "Print Screen" button on your keyboard. It is in the top right hand corner next to F12 and has "PrtScn and SysRq" on it.

With the apps displayed on your desktop press the PrtScn button to capture the image to the clipboard.

Open up your "Paint" program (or any other image manipulation software you have installed) by clicking on Start... All Programs and locating it..

For example if you are using Paint... then its Start.. All Programs... Accessories.. Paint.

Once the program has loaded up click on EDIT and then PASTE from the drop down menu which has appeared. The image will appear in the screen below. Crop and edit it as desired.

Saving The Image

If you click on FILE at the top of your Paint Program and then SAVE AS. This allows you to choose where you want to save it to and what you want to call it.

So you are now presented with a box and you need to type the name you wish to give this image into the box marked "File Name".

File Type - for this you will need to click on the drop down arrow to the right of the selection box and select "JPEG"

If you look at the top of the screen you will see its asking you where you wish to save it to. The default location is "My Pictures" which in your computer is easy to find. Click on START.. Click on "My Pictures" which is to the top right of that screen when you click on start!

Uploading The Image

Now if you do not have your own "Homepage" and need a good imagine hosting site there are many free ones out there.
Imageshack and Photobucket are two good sites. They are both FREE!!

ImageShackģ - Online Media Hosting and Image hosting, free photo sharing & video sharing at Photobucket

Once you upload your image the hosting site will assign you a link for that image.
As an example
I took a screenshot and named and saved it as sample.jpg
I uploaded it to imageshack and it gave me the following link minus the quotation marks
""http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/8250/samplejs.jpg""
now I add the forum image code to the link minus the quotation marks
[IMG]""http://img193.imageshack.us/img193/8250/samplejs.jpg""[/IMG]
and the image appears
 
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
overclocking? kharen Overclocking and Modding 12 10-19-2007 03:31 PM
Gigabyte DS3R overclocking and problems help mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 7 09-24-2007 02:15 AM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.