Problems with increasing fsb, voltage, etc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2004, 02:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default Problems with increasing fsb, voltage, etc

ok, i have the system in my sig, and fort some reason whenever i try to increase the fsb or voltage, when i try to restart my computer i get a long beep followed by another (i think it would keep going). according to my motherboard manual, this signifies that there is no ram installed. im not sure why it does this. might it be my motherboard? my motherboard is a discount piece of ****, and unlike the fx5200 vid card that works, its a discount piece of **** that i have a ton of problems with. Considering my system specs, can you guys recommend a good motherboard that i can get? id like to have it support dual channel and sata (i may get a sata hd soon). id also like it to support overclocking (no intel!)
__________________

__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

I'm pretty sure this mobo will do you right: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...136-129&depa=0
__________________

str8lazy is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 11:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

holy **** that things expensive. the one i have now cost 50 bucks, haha... thanks for the reply
__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 11:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

well, tell us how much you are willing to spend, and we will find you a good Motherboard for the price range
__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 12:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

well id like a cheaper one but i like all those ide ports as well as the sata... and one of the reviews said its a great overclocking board. i do want the i875p chipset. if thats what i have to spend, so be it.
__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 09:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

Well the cheapest one that I could find that didnt cost that much with the chipset that you wanted and all of the other stuff that you wanted was $152.00

hope this helps: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-452&depa=0

That lanparty might be a little expensive, but in the long run it will be worth it.
str8lazy is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 12:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

how high are you increasing the voltage and bus speed?
A good practice would be in increments of .25 voltage
Bus speed id jump from 133 to 140 for starters .See if it will boot then .If so run Prime 95 for 5-24 hours to test for errors .
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 12:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 256
Default

my bios only lets me increase the voltage in .1 increments. even at stock speeds it sometimes wont boot.
__________________
<font size=1 color=red>
<b>Main System</b>
-Mach Speed X-Caliber PT800DBP Mobo (POS!!)
-Pentium 4 3.0C at stock w/ SP-94 & YS Tech Fan
-Thermaltake 420 Watt Power Supply
-Kingston 512 MB Dual Channel PC3200
-512 MB Kingmax Hardcore PC4000
-GeForceFX 5200 128MB AGP Card | Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
-WD Caviar SE 160GB HD 7200 RPM/8 MB/ATA-100
-Nec DVD Burner, 32x16x40 CD-RW, 8x4x12x DVD±RW</font>
<font size=1 color=black>
<b>Dell XPS T700r</b>
-PIII 700Mhz | 20GB Maxtor | 384 MB SDRAM | NEC DVD-ROM | 32MB NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model64
</font>
knuckle50 is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 07:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

See if theres any Flash Bios updates available
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.