Problems already... - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2006, 03:18 AM   #41 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

okay i just did 1mb on 2.4 ghz and overclocked ddr 433 ram... my time was 35 seconds.. i don't feel like waiting half an hour for the 32 mb... i'll try that some other time -_-

1:24 for 2 mb.... hrmm, i'm guessing i'm not supposed to be running anything else while i'm doing thins.. because i'm running aim and looking at newegg....

okay so i guess i have 2 choices... i'm a gamer so whatever you guys think would be best.. cuz i'm trying to save some money here... need to help the parents round the place... and get my graduation announcements...

so back the original 2 gigs of patriot ram pc3200

or just go for 1 gig of higher clocked ram, whatever you would say is better for my situation i guess? either way, i don't see it as being a bad thing
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:29 AM   #42 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
today it was at 20 degrees
i am curious about that. what sort of cooling do you have and what was the room temp? just seems too low is all
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:42 AM   #43 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well in california, its a bit on the cold side, around here,as for my room temps no idea, any know what it is in southern california right now??? well if you're having any doubts i have a picture

i dunno, maybe the tube that came with it has great cooling, its hooked up to 2 120 mm fans



and here are pictures of my build, well this is before it was running, the my friend still has the pics i took yesterday, i'm waiting for him to upload them (its his camera)



Look at that crap compaq....






and here is the magical tube i was talking about
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:57 AM   #44 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ok, that does look fairly efficient. sorry i didn't take into account that its winter for the northern hemisphere because its summer here. when i think california i think warm-hot and it's just 20 degrees c seems mighty low unless you have liquid or better cooling. the temp would have to be below 20 degrees in your room for that to be an accurate reading.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 04:03 AM   #45 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya, it usually is hot here, right now is a bit odd for weather.. i havent seen this opteron under stress yet, still no gaming or any other heavy processing, and when the weather goes back to normal i'll give more details on everything, this isnt regular weather, so i'll wait for the average temps before i go overclocking crazy....

all my friends agreed though, the air its pushing out is extremely cold... it gives me chills because i sit next to it...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:35 AM   #46 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 315
Default

dude ur cpu is only like 2 days old u gotta let it burn in
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
eVGA 7800GT
OCZ Gold DDR400 2GB(2x1GB)
OCZ ModStream 520 Watt PSU
Creative Soundblaster X-FI Extreme Music 24-Bit
Western Digital Raptor 36GB and Caviar 160GB
Thermaltake Armor Full Tower
karpfish24 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:41 PM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

I'd say get 2 gigs of RAM.
If you can scrape together a few extra $$$, you can get a faster 2GB kit.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231021
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227219
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 03:57 PM   #48 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ya, i think thats the ones apokalipse showed me... its really very tempting, and i know i'd be able to keep 2.8 ghz stable with those.... i have until friday to decide, i should have a lil bit over 400 to spend... so i'll have 200 bucks left over.... i guess buying a new hard drive can wait... and before anyone says anything, i'm only getting a new hard drive because this is the one from my compaq, and of course its going back into it, because i'm going to sell it for 420 dollars to a friend, to buy more stuff for this computer!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 11:06 AM   #49 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

alright! i got my pc3200 *compaq* ram clocked at ddr433 and i ran super pi 2mb and got about 1:40.. its been running all night with windows media player and aim and seems alright, i still have it running now (i'm at school) and hopefully its doing all right.. i'll try the 32mb soon enough...

anywho i guess my question is how do i check my ram temps.. how do i know my rams doin okay? my fsb is at 250.. so i'm running 2.5 ghz, could i try to up the ram again, to try and get higher clock speeds? i havent tried fsb 260 yet.. soon enough though...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.