Problems already... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2006, 09:53 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm not sure what you're saying...
a memory divider lets your CPU's HTT run faster than your RAM
the G.Skill RAM I posted works at 250MHZ

if you run a 5:6 divider, and your RAM at 250MHZ, your CPU will be 250 / (5/6) * 10 = 3000MHZ
however your CPU may not be able to handle 3GHZ, so if you ran with no memory divider and a 250MHZ HTT your CPU will be 2500MHZ. and you may be able to increase it further.

to hit 2.6GHZ, you will need a 260MHZ HTT
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Assuming everything is running at stock speed (200HTT), setting a 5:6 (or 166 if you want to call it that) divider on your RAM would make the RAM run at 166MHz and the HTT stay at 200MHz. Lets say for example you set your HTT at 220 and your divider at 5:6 (166). Your RAM would be running at 186MHz. The way you get that is by taking the original MHz of the divider (in this case 166) and add the ammount of MHz over 200 your HTT is (20, in this case).
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 12:18 AM   #23 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

okay, i downclocked my ram to pc 333 now, and i was able to hit 2.4 ghz, i tried for 2.5, and failed, didnt get a post, would i have to lower my ram again -_- ...... or could it be that its not getting enough juice (i doubt this one).... and would downclocking the ram far enough just make my computer slower
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 12:33 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Put your RAM on the lowest divider you can use so that its not a limiting factor. That way you can see how far you CPU is capable of going.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 12:39 AM   #25 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

wait, but wouldnt slowing the ram down sort of slow down my computer??
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 12:50 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Yeah, but it would allow you to find the limits of your CPU, so when you do get better RAM you can be able to overclock it better.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:02 AM   #27 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well right now i'm at 2.8 with the lowest possible ram setting (2 something) ... and wow, this is pretty fast... i've hit my fx 57 speeds... but how much am i really sacrificing with the ram down?? i'm beginning to think i don't really need 2 gigs of ram...

right now i'm running 4 aim boxes, my firewall and updates, and i'm running 25 degrees celcius on this cpu

i hit 2.8 and stopped, i havent tried higher yet... i think i may up the ram again, and put it at 2.6, maybe even just put it back to 333 and have a 2.4 ghz, that ran fairly fast as well... i saw no difference
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:21 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Take it as far as you can go! When you hit your peak, put the RAM as high as you can and run a benchmark to find your bandwidth. Then try the same benchmark on with the faster RAM and slower CPU and see how they compare.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:24 AM   #29 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrmmm what could i use for cpu benchmarking???

wow i just checked what ram speed i was using and it was at pc200.... it was going double the speed... that can't be good

i think i'm only going to go for 1 gig of ram for now, pc 4000, or possible higher
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 01:50 AM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try superpi
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.