Problems already... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2006, 08:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to Duplicity
Default

You obviously don't know what you're doing. Read.

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=263753
http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=320351

Should answer alot of your questions.
__________________

__________________
DFI Lanarty Ultra-D
Opteron 165 @ 2.5, 1.325v
1x1GB Mushkin XP4000 @ 250, 3-4-3-8 (another gig on the way)
Sapphire X1900XT @ 700/800 (she\'ll do better, but I need to replace the stock cooler)
WD 1600JB 160GB
Antec SP 500W
Duplicity is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 08:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
and i have another question.... now that i'm more aware of overclocking, would you recommend i get higher than pc 3200
with your current RAM, no. unless you're talking about getting new RAM
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 08:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

yes, i'm talking about getting new ram, and i know i'm not really too sure what i'm doing, thats why i'm asking, cuz reading about this didnt really help, i'll somehow try to get bio's pictures, because i was looking all through my bio's to change the settings for my ram but i could not find it anywhere... or i could, but not what i needed

well its not that it didnt help, its just i'm at work right now, and i don't have all the time in the world to read a section on overclocking with dividers, i already had flanker send me an overclocking guide or guides, but i'll take a look at everything when i get home

by the way i was thinking of getting pc4000 ram, would this be too much or just fine???
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 08:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

how much are you willing to spend on RAM?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well since i'm no longer buying a hard drive for a good while, or a cd drive for a while i would say 180 pushing the limits 200 at the very most..... that is of course for 2 gigs
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:08 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

PC4000 RAM would have worse timings, but you should be able to get to thhe DDR500 Speeds easily.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

G.Skill PC4000 - $192
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231021

OCZ Gold PC4000 - $212.84 - $30 rebate
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227219
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:24 PM   #18 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

that g.skill seems good enough for me, would this give me the ability to overclock to 2.6ghz?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:29 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

your Opteron has a multiplier of 10. if you get at least 250MHZ (which the RAM is designed to get at stock speeds) 10 x 250 = 2500MHZ
you can probabbly get higher than 250MHZ though
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 09:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

so if i'm reading correctly, i have to lower my ram speed to higher my fsb??? so getting faster ram would allow me to lower it while still being able to run at pc3200 or close to speeds i'm assuming??? so i'm guessing you get higher ram speeds to make up for the sacrifice of downclocking it? ... or am i just way off
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.