Problems already... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2006, 05:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Problems already...

well, already, i'm having some troubles overclocking... if i put the fsb over 240 windows doesnt seem to start, its gets an error loading microsoft config, or something like that...... and pretty much anything over fsb 210 i get more errors... its only at 29 degrees, so i dont see the problem, i should have up the voltage at such low speeds, do you think its the ram??? i'm using 1 gig of crap compaq ram, i wouldnt doubt that was the problem.... so i'm guessing overclocking is a no no for me until i get my 2 gigs of patriot ram... unless someones got a suggestion
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 08:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Put PCI lock on, and put the HTT multiplier down to 4x. The hypertransport doesn't go much over 2ghz.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 04:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ehh.... put the htt 4x... and pci lock is on, but still, won't budge... the temp is extremely low so i know its not that, today it was at 20 degrees idol.... so any other suggestions? it can't be the psu... because it only has problems loading a windows file some awkward reason... maybe i need to up the ram speed? i don't know why it wouldnt load a window file just because of a higher clock speed... but when i put it back to 2.35 ghz and lower it runs just fine, no errors or anything
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

RAM. Try running it on a divider.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yeah, your RAM probably can't take that much OC'ing on 1:1 (DDR400) ratio. Use a divider and see what happens.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 07:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

uhh.. whats a divider, and how do i use it???
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 07:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

The CPU HTT and the RAM speed want to run in a 1:1 ratio (200MHz:200MHz) so that they can communicate without a bottleneck. A ram divider sets the ram at a lower speed. So on a 5:6 ratio the ram will be running at 166MHz while the HTT is running at 200MHz. You use this when you ram can't go any higher. Example:

Say your HTT is at 225 running with a 1:1 ratio with the ram. Your ram is also running at 225MHz, but when you overclock any higher the ram craps out on you. By setting the ram to run at 166MHz instead of 200MHz your ram will now be running at 191MHz and completely problem free (166+25=191).
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 08:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

okay, so i have to downclock the ram????

okay, which bio's option would this be under... i'm not at home right now, so i'll have to check later if i can find it... because i am eager to hit at least 2.6....

and i have another question.... now that i'm more aware of overclocking, would you recommend i get higher than pc 3200
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 08:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to jhick40
Default

higher will be faster, but the pc3200 has the best timings, unless you want to spend a lot.
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8ghz | Hewlett-Packard 085Ch (D530 SFF)
1024mb DDR400 | eVGA FX5500 128mb @ 300/495
Western Digital Caviar 40gb| 8x CD-RW | SB Audigy SE
jhick40 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 08:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrmmm how much of a concern would the timing really be??? i just want my processor to haul some as5, haha... what a dumb thing of me to say.... whatever it takes for me to hit 2.6 or 2.8 ghz is what i want, so could someone advise me?
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.