problem that can't be solved... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2006, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default problem that can't be solved...

hello,
for about 6 months i have had 2 gigs of OCZ PERFORMANCE ram(4*512) in my lanparty ultra-d mobo. i have an A64 3700+ San Diego and it's OCed to 2.8 ghz. my multiplier is at 11 and the htt is at 255. my ram divider,however, is only set to 3/4(makes my ram 187mhz). Ever since i have had my ram, even with only 1 gig, i couldnt get the speeds past stock without it being unstable. When i got 2 gigs i couldnt even get it at 196 mhz(5/6 divider) without it freezing up while playing videos or playing a game. i recentyly got a new case and PSU(antec 550) and it hasnt solved the problem. i have tried MANY different latency configurations and still cant get the ram to at least stock settings. I ran memtest for about an hour or soo on each stick and no problems. lets say it wasnt the ram that was the problem. im thinking maybe its the mobo. what would YOU do to solve this problem? i was also wondering if i set the htt to 10x instead of 11 and changed the dividers around it would solve anything. please give your advice. thanks!
__________________

__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 09:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

try putting the divider to 4:5, and do not touch the multiplier, you can lower it a lil, but nothign else. ur problem maybe the fact, plain and simple is that ur CPU is not a good OCer, but try 4:5 divider first

if that doesnt work then try OCing the ram, by increasing it voltage EVER so gently.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 11:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

i dont have a 4:5 divider in my BIOS. should i flash to a new one? also i have fooled around with voltages. i have tried 2.6(default) and 2.7. you would think i wouldnt need extra volts because im only trying to get it to its default 200 mhz speed.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.