Problem With Built PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2004, 08:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default Problem With Built PC

I built a computer with the following specs

Mach Speed pt800dbp m/b
intel celeron 2.0 ghz
128 mb ram
20 GB h/d

at first when i built it, it would "freeze" at the setup screen and would not try to detect and IDE drives. Think the probelm rested with the m/b I sent away and got a new one. However, upon building it again, the problem persisted. I then sent away for a new processor and the problem still persisted. I tried new RAM from a working computer and have had others look at it to see if I was missing something and we are stumped.

Anyone have any ideas. Any help is greatly appreciated.
__________________

jfav15 is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 08:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Is your Hard Drive Serial ATA???
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Alex81388
Is your Hard Drive Serial ATA???

i doubt it if its only 20gb.



Are you sure that the motherboard is compatible with the celeron processor? I dont know much about intel's mobos or cpu's but its just a guess. you might want to check the hard drive. i had the same problem with my system. the hard drive was corrupt. when i installed windows xp, a few days later the hard drive just went out and the installation of windows xp was corrupt. i put in anohter hard drive with xp and its worked fine ever since. good luck.
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default

no, it is not a serial ata

i have tried 2 other h/d's from working computers and I still have the problem...

anything else? thanks for the replies.
jfav15 is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default

and i have checked and double checked compatibility and contacted Intel and the celeron processor is compatible with the m/b.

this is one of the strangest problems i have ever encountered but, hey...thats computers.
jfav15 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 12:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

have you checked the BIOS for anything weird?
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 05:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default

i cant get into the bios. i never got past the point where the computer scans for IDE drives. i get video and the setup screen is displayed, but it just "freezes" there and nothing happens..

Thanks for the replies
jfav15 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 07:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Ok first tell me excatly the name of your mobo and hard drive. I can probably help you the.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 07:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Have you tried removing the HD's?? If you remove them and boot up your computer and it gets through the POST screen then you can probably assume it's the HD given you troubles.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 07:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default

The mobo is a Mach Speed PT800DBP and the hard drives are ones that I have salvaged from other computers...

1). Maxtor N256 (20 GB)
2). WD Caviar 22100 (7 GB)

Again, thanks for the replies. Help is muchly appreciated.
__________________

jfav15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.