Problem with 9800SE Pipeline - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2005, 10:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Ok, what does might having to get a new mobo have to do with nvidia specifically? Doesn't matter what company you go for, both have AGP and both have PCI-E versions and the PCI-E would necessitate a new motherboard and compatible graphics.

As far as speed goes, currently there really isn't. PCI-E is cheaper than the AGP because the AGP uses a chip to change the chips bus from PCI-E to AGP so an AGP board can read it so that makes em more expensive. There's no PCI-E card that can utilize the PCI-E bandwidth which is 16x, it's just setting you up for future cards of course.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:25 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Try locking them all except 1, than start unlocking them until you get an error, their is likely only 1 or 2 messes pipes
I see about what Nubius said. But how would I lock only one or two of the pipelines? Is that even possible?
__________________

__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 11:17 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

*Bump*

Is it possible to unlock only 6 or 7 pixel pipelines in a Radeon 9800 SE PowerColor? Apparently one or two of them is causing the artifacts to appear on my computer.
__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 11:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Not 100% sure it was rivatuner that was able to unlock single pipes I think

I never tried to go pipe unlocking :/ My cards all have their maximum pipes
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 11:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Can the 6600GT be unlocked?
ApM is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 11:45 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

The 6600gt just has 8 pipes. There's nothing there to unlock...

Would be cool if you could unlock it to 16 pipes or something, but that's just a fantasy.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 12:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

I wish I could answer that ApM. I've only used ATI cards so far. My next one will get a Nvidia 6800GT.
__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 04:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Nah get an x800 xl, just as good as a 6800 gt for a lot less. Don't let that 9800se experience get you down. I don't know what your friend was thinking. That card is not a good value, never buy SE cards or anything. He's just stupid to suggest that. You could have gotten a much better card.

That's the thing with ATI, the people that go out and buy 9800 se's or, like beedubya, x800 pro's are disappointed and often decide to start hating ATI and switch to nvidia. But the people that buy x800 xt pe's and x800 xl's are completely satisfied and become ati fans for life. ATI makes really good cards and really crappy cards. Nvidia as well I think but perhaps to a lesser extent.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 05:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Nvidia performs equally well with Direct3D and OpenGL, and in fact is ahead of ATI in many OpenGL games. ATI can barely do OpenGL, which is proven with Doom 3. You will be very happy with a 6800 GT. I wish I could afford one myself...the X800XL is similar to the 6800 GT stock, but remember that the X800XL has little room for overclocking and has no PS 3.0. Overclock the 6800 GT to Ultra and it will rape the X800XL.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-07-2005, 06:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

Its differences of opinon like that which confuses me about what to get. I noticed something though. I used my 9800SE on OpenGL on Counter Strike and it runs between 40 and 99 (I put the max limit to 99 in game) However, I switched the video mode to Direct3D. The framerate could not climb above 15 FPS, which was just as bad as my old video card (9000 series Radeon) and i think the old card still performed better.

I hear about Nvidia cards crashing and having compatibility errors from friends of mine. As for the comment on ATI and Doom 3... my friend build a PC with a 2400 dollar budget (OMG it was sweet) His video card of choice (picked out with the help of a techie friend of his who works with fiber optics) was Radeon 9800XT. Smooth as a babies ***. He's had the comp for about a year now, he hasn't complained to me about a problem.

I'm not sure about what kind of card to get because the next one I'm planning on spending 350 to 500 on. Thats alot of money to waste if I buy the wrong card, and sending it back to newegg.com or zipzoomfly.com is a ridiculously difficult hassle. I dont have the "numbers" it requires me to have. Not to mention I have to pay for shipping to send back a, safe to say, a defective card. I'm gonna live with what I have for now, since its still a great improvement over what I had previously, but I was hoping to get alot more from ATI. They didn't meet my expectations like I thought they would.

Edit: Also, I check out the list of Radeon x800 XL's, and I found there was multiple types like GIGABYTE, Sapphire, PowerColor (i have a powercolor) Connect3d, ASUS, MSI, and so on. What is the differences here? Some of them have a 100 dollar difference in price, and I dont really see a difference in stats. Since I have a ASUS motherboard, should I get the ASUS Radeon card? Or would it not make a difference?
__________________

__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.