problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2005, 04:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Default problem

i just ordered some parts to build a computer, just finished putting it together.
when i turn the power on, everything kicks on, but nothing comes up on the screen. even when i take the video card out, and use the on board video. even when i disconnect everything (hard drive, memory)

i have this barebone kit
this hard drive
this DVD Drive
this video card

if someone could help, that would be sweet. thanks.

fredjuik is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5

tried a different monitor too.

fredjuik is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 07:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r

First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum

AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 07:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5

the motherboard? wouldnt it not turn on at all?
fredjuik is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 11:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543

Sounds like the video card, if not then the monitor? What type of monitor is it?
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5

No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 09:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5

well, both onboard video and video failed to work. the monitor works perfectly fine, hooked it up to another computer. i just sent it in for an exchange (the motherboard).
fredjuik is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 10:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

Perhaps your PSU. You have that problem when a board requires the other 4 pin power connector and you neglect to plug it in. The video is one thing that dosent tend to work when you do that.

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.