probelms with overclocking possibly? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2007, 10:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to jrdwstfll
Default probelms with overclocking possibly?

My comp specs first are
AMD 3200+ stock 2.0 GHZ
1 GB (2 x 512 mb) Corsair Value Ram
ABIT AV-8 Motherboard
and Geforce 6600 GT 128 MB AGP Vid CArd

ok.. first ... i was having problems with Company of heroes.. i used Abit Guru to over clock (could this have been my first problem!!!) and my computer kept crashing when it was overclocked at 2.16... so any suggestions on what could be the problem would be great... i want to get this thing over clocked... i gotta hold onto as long as possible!!
thanks

Jared
__________________

__________________
<iframe src=\"http://gamercard.xbox.com/jrdwstfll.card\" scrolling=\"no\" frameBorder=\"0\" height=\"140\" width=\"204\">Jrdwstfll</iframe>
jrdwstfll is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 10:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i have heard of abit guru...but am not familiar with it.
i think it is a windows based program, and if so, yes that was your first mistake/problem.
a few things:
read up about overclocking thru bios.
i'll give you a few pointers, tho...
cpu voltage.
ram speed (probably is overclocked too much, but i don't know what speed it is stock).
windows overclock.
company of heroes. ie. dude that is a wicked cpu/memory intensive game, and 1gb probably wont cut it with the settings turned on anything but low/medium maybe.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to jrdwstfll
Default

yea.. i play on medium setttings.. its still sick and i enjoy it
__________________
<iframe src=\"http://gamercard.xbox.com/jrdwstfll.card\" scrolling=\"no\" frameBorder=\"0\" height=\"140\" width=\"204\">Jrdwstfll</iframe>
jrdwstfll is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 11:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

sweet yeah i have it but havent gotten into it too much yet. still learning bf2.
graphics for COH definitely kick @$$ for RTS game.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.