Prime95 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2006, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default Prime95

Okay, im trying to get the most out of my CPU and iv been told Prime95 is the way to go to make sure its stable, all night. I want to make sure im doing it all right.

First should i run the Torture Test?

And if so do i run the

Small FFTs

In-place Large FFTs

Blend

Or use a custom?

And how many hours would let me know if its stable, i know everyone says as long as i can go but, whats the least that will tell me what i need to know?

Im running a AMD 64 3200+ (Venice) OC'ed at 2.5ghz, 1.41 Volts

what would be to high of a temp, i idle at around 27-30 *C

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 01:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

for testing the CPU run the one with maxmum heat, power consumption. For test RAM or everything, run the one that says lots of RAM is tested.

at least 8 hours prime stable is good
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 01:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

Cool thank you.
__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hapx4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to Hapx4.0
Default

Its on 5 1/2 hours now, hasent broke 40*c and all tests so far have passed, im excited. i wonder what i can push this cpu up to!
__________________
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=33903&dateline=129725 0895[/SIGPIC]
Hapx4.0 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 06:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If you want to use an even more intense test than Prime95, get S&M. Just search google for "S&M cpu"
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 07:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hapx4.0
Its on 5 1/2 hours now, hasent broke 40*c and all tests so far have passed, im excited. i wonder what i can push this cpu up to!
If your really lucky you can probably hit 2.8-3.0GHz but I'd keep it anywhere in between 2.4 and 2.6GHz.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 10:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

I agree with 003, S&M will definitely stress your CPU well. It makes it heat up alot more, I can say that for certain.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
If you want to use an even more intense test than Prime95, get S&M. Just search google for "S&M cpu"
i laughed for a while at the possible consequences of you not being specific there. might end up with some pretty disturbing stuff if he just googled "S&M" :P. personally i run the custom torture test but thats because of the dual cores.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 10:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If you type "S&M cpu", it's literally the first result. Here is the link:
http://www.benchmarkhq.ru/english.html?/be_cpu.html
There are a lot of programs on this page, just scroll down till you see S&M, or just press Ctrl+F and type S&M. It fully supports dual core CPU's, you don't have to run it twice to load both cores.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 10:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

thanks 003 i'll have a look, prime95 shall always be close to my heart though.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.