Pretty sure I F'ed up. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2005, 08:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default Pretty sure I F'ed up.

Dudes and Dudetts. LOL I think I screwed up while trying to OC. Heres what I did.

---- BTW, system SPECS are in my sig below, >>>



Ok, I went in to my BIOS and set my multiplier to 10.0x which it was already there. Then I set my HTT to 203, because most people are telling me to do it in increments of 3. So I did that, and then My vCore I'm assuming is VID Control or something like that, it had voltages that went up to 1.55v so I'm assuming this was my vCore, anyway. It was on "AUTO" I changed the option to 1.375v, I thought that was default for 64 Venice's but I wasn't positive.

-----

Anyway after all of this. My computer would boot up to the LOGON GUI screen and as soon as I would type in my pw and push enter, BOOM comp would restart. Only thing I could do at this point was flash my bios. And restart my comp. Then it works. But its not OCed, so... I dunno....

-----

I heard this today, I do not know if it is true or not though. Well seeing the fact that I am using a DFI LanParty nF4 Ultra-D board. It has a 24-pin ATX Power Connector. Now, my power supply is mainly a 20-pin but I have a adapter that plugs in to my 20 and converts it to the 24-pin. Does this have to be a straight 24-pin from my PSU to be able to overclock? Or does that not matter? I really do not know but I thought I heard that today.....

-----

Can some1 work some magic for me plz? I would love to open up a 1on1 thread with someone to help explain what I can do to OC my system because I'm seriously dieing too but my SKILLS apparently suck. LOL or if someone could PM me that would be awesome, I have 5 or 6 different guides and I understand everything. My stuff just ain't working out.
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-13-2005, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Things to remember:

*Lower HTT/LDT Multiplier to 4x or 3x if FSB speed over 250MHz
*Lock PCI-E frequency at 99/100MHz and PCI frequency at 33MHz
*Set memory divider to 166 if not planning on dealing with memory overclocking

I personally highly recommend you use a native 24 pin PSU connections specifically for the DFI nf4-D...you can live without it, I know Nubius is still using a 20pin PSU and the famous overclocking FUGGER also used a 20pin PSU...but it's obviously not a bad idea to use the ideal setup

But like I said, do what I said above otherwise you'll run into problems very quickly even if you're not overclocking very high
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 02:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

I would raise the voltage. I'm not positive what the default voltage is, but mine was around 1.5v at stock settings. I currently have mine at 1.6v. I also have an older PSU, so I needed a 20-24 pin adapter, and I haven't noticed any problems associated with it. I have an EPoX board though, I don't know if that makes a difference or not.
beardo526 is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 03:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

dude how did you come to the conclusion your only option was to flash your bios. how about clear cmos? 24 pin is better but the adapter should be fine. i'm not sure of what thye voltage should be for your cpu but if it is too low it explains the crashing
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 07:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

No, you need a 24-pin PSU. You will not get support from DFI f you don't have one, and you can run into problems later, even if the PSU works now for OCing, it will give you your own personal fireworks display in several weeks or so.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 11:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

Exactly, I heard same thing... TY 003! lol...
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 07:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

its true dfi won't give you support but i don't know about a fireworks show
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 10:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
No, you need a 24-pin PSU. You will not get support from DFI f you don't have one, and you can run into problems later, even if the PSU works now for OCing, it will give you your own personal fireworks display in several weeks or so.
Common misconception that some blokes at dfi-street will swear by...a quality 20 pin PSU is fine for use with any ATX2.0 DFI board...like I said FUGGER who is well known at XS and I believe set the 7.2GHz P4 record uses a 20pin PSU on his nf4-D without any problems, same with Nubius here

Basically if your PSU isn't junk it doesn't really matter if it's ATX or ATX2.0
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 11:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
No, you need a 24-pin PSU. You will not get support from DFI f you don't have one, and you can run into problems later, even if the PSU works now for OCing, it will give you your own personal fireworks display in several weeks or so.
yeaaah not true...

not only have I gotten help from 2 DFI reps, but my setup has been working for months now...a friend of mine who not only uses a 20pin PSU, but he also doesn't plug in the FDD connector and his has been going for longer than mine.

I use a 20 to 24pin adapter though and my voltages don't fluctuate from 12v at all (using multimeter to test it)

like gaara said if you have a good strong PSU then a 20 to 24 pin adapter will work just fine.

ESPECIALLY this whole 'fireworks' display you're talking about, that's just a load of crap altogether.

Quote:
*Lower HTT/LDT Multiplier to 4x or 3x if FSB speed over 250MHz
It needs to be 4x if you're going aboe 200HTT period....it only needs to go to 3x once you've gone above 250HTT....I know you know this gaara, but I'm just clarifying for the original poster.

Poster:
Try:
LTD Bus @ 1.4v
Chipset @ 1.7v

make sure your RAM is underclocked if you don't want to mess with that which is a good idea....use the 166 divider then start raising your htt making sure the LTD Multi is set to 4x.

The above guidance is what I was given from a couple of the people who work at DFI and it seemed to work for my system.
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 11:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
It needs to be 4x if you're going aboe 200HTT period....it only needs to go to 3x once you've gone above 250HTT....I know you know this gaara, but I'm just clarifying for the original poster.
lol why do you think I said "or 3x if going over 250MHz FSB" ...I kinda wrote it badly and it looks like I'm saying "lower to 4x/3x if over 250Mhz FSB" but I meant what you said, 4x if over default 200 and 3x if over 250
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.