Powerful system, low frame rate on simple games - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2010, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default Powerful system, low frame rate on simple games

Hey guys.

I'm having this strange problem (and always had) that I have pretty low frame rates on a simple and old game with my powerful system. I have an AMD PhenomII 965 @ 3GHz, XFX HD4890, 4GB Corsair DDR3 @ 1333MHz - playing on 1280x1024 resolution. The game I'm talking about is GTA San Andreas Multiplayer. I usually get below 45 fps, which is way too low for my system. I know this because I can easily play and record games like MW2 @ 60fps, but this SAMP never goes over 40-50fps, and even a few frames lower when recording. I've tried lowering the settings and everything, still exactly the same frame rate.

I haven't tried any kind of tweaks and tricks, I don't know any. Sorry for being a 1 post newb asking for help, but I greatly appreciate some help. Thanks in advance.
__________________

Timbuktu is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Powerful system, low frame rate on simple games

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbuktu View Post
Hey guys.

I'm having this strange problem (and always had) that I have pretty low frame rates on a simple and old game with my powerful system. I have an AMD PhenomII 965 @ 3GHz, XFX HD4890, 4GB Corsair DDR3 @ 1333MHz - playing on 1280x1024 resolution. The game I'm talking about is GTA San Andreas Multiplayer. I usually get below 45 fps, which is way too low for my system. I know this because I can easily play and record games like MW2 @ 60fps, but this SAMP never goes over 40-50fps, and even a few frames lower when recording. I've tried lowering the settings and everything, still exactly the same frame rate.

I haven't tried any kind of tweaks and tricks, I don't know any. Sorry for being a 1 post newb asking for help, but I greatly appreciate some help. Thanks in advance.
Make sure you have up to date graphics card drivers, but this game may just not work well.
__________________

__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Powerful system, low frame rate on simple games

Look for an option for frame limiter and turn it OFF
to get to "Frame Limiter"
Go to
Pause Menu
Options
Display Setup
Advanced
Frame Limiter

set Frame Limiter to OFF
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 11:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Powerful system, low frame rate on simple games

some games simply cant go passed a certain frame rate, usually its 60 fps.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 04:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Powerful system, low frame rate on simple games

Thanks for the answers.

The framelimiter is actually turned off and my drivers are up-to-date. Just a few minutes ago I tried the singleplayer of GTASA, and I was surprised by the difference between the SP and MP. In the SP I couldn't go lower than 60 fps. I find it really strange, because both the MP and SP run the exact same exe, everything is the same except the vehicles are controlled by other players. I think I've come to the conclusion that it might not be my system, it might be the MP itself that's the problem =/
Timbuktu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frame Rate issue zenyora Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-04-2010 09:47 PM
how i can see the frame rate per sec for any game maroon1 PC Gaming 4 09-21-2005 06:59 PM
Frame Rate Problem 01clipse PC Gaming 3 05-10-2005 10:26 PM
HELP! Low Frame Rate! Nemein Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 01-23-2005 06:20 AM
Frame rate monitoring AND_YOU_ARE Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 10-11-2004 12:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.