Power supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2004, 06:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 67
Default Power supply

would a 400W power supply be enough for this setup?
MoBo - Abit NF7-S
CPU - AMD XP 2500+ RETAIL BOX (BARTON CORE) 333MHZ FSB
HDD - Hitachi DESKSTAR 180GXP Vancouver II 80.0GB
VID - GE-CUBE ATI Radeon 9200 SE 128mb TV out/DVI
RAM - 256mb DDR RAM PC-3200 KINGMAX 400mhz CAS-2.5 SUPER RAM
__________________

guy101 is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 06:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

I would say that 400 watts is plenty of power.

I run a 350 watt PS, and i have not had any issues.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 12:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

yea im gonna say yea it should be good..
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 222
Default

yeah...i'm looking for a new case, particularly a thermalktake SKULL Xaser III VM3000 and i'm probly gonna get it w/o a costly PSU and just swap out the stock one from my old case. would that likely be enough power for everything inside the case plus whatever power the actual components of the case (i.e. lcd display, lights, etc.)?
__________________
Chris

EMachines T3025:
Creative Extigy, Creative 5300 5.1 Audio, Athlon XP 3000+, nVidia MX GeForce 4, Samsung 48x CD-R/W, Cendyne 4x DVD+R/RW, Deuce 160GB WD Caviars, ATI TV Wonder, Hitatchi SuperScan 811 21\" CRT, Logitech MX700, White/blue neon.
csw3190 is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 02:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

what is the power of your stock one?

I have the V2000 case with 4 fans, 2 cathodes, EL case thingy and a fan controller and it all runs fine off of a 350W PSU.
__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 03:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 222
Default

not sure. i don't have the manual w/me, but i have an EMachines t3025 (v) if that helps :/
__________________
Chris

EMachines T3025:
Creative Extigy, Creative 5300 5.1 Audio, Athlon XP 3000+, nVidia MX GeForce 4, Samsung 48x CD-R/W, Cendyne 4x DVD+R/RW, Deuce 160GB WD Caviars, ATI TV Wonder, Hitatchi SuperScan 811 21\" CRT, Logitech MX700, White/blue neon.
csw3190 is offline  
Old 04-25-2004, 03:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 767
Send a message via AIM to Monster00
Default

i had a 350 watt PSU in it. But 1 thing. If you want it to look neat your gonna need to get wire extensions. Thats what i needed to do becuase the case is bigger then a stock case. If you dont. the wires will be hanging in the middle of the case. I think thats y they reccomend thermaltake PSU's. But i mean i got a antec 550 watt PSU and the wires are longer. Just make sure your PSU has long wires and if not, u can get extensions for like 1.25 each.
__________________
Intel 2.8GHZ 800mhz FSB
Western digital 120 GB HD
Western digital 40 GB HD
Asus P4p800s motherboard
1280MB of ram
Xaser III Red and Blue case
Antec 550 watt PSU
BACK TO GOOD OLE CPU FANS(serious not kidding)
ATI readon 9800xt 256 MB
8x DVD burner
52X cd burner
Monster00 is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 01:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 29
Default

I wouldnt go any lower than 400Ws. You may even want to go up to a 450W if you plan on having lots of fans or other misc things running off that PwS. Otherwise it looks as if it will do the job fine.
__________________

Jim240260 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.