Power Supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2007, 06:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Power Supply

I bought my PC at a local PC store a ways back (year and a half) for much cheaper than I could build (seriously, I was looking around) and have been very satisfied. Its a pentium 4 3ghz. But...after adding: 2 gigs of ram, a video card, a tv capture card, a firewire card, a wireless card, an extra DVD burner an 2 HDs my 320 watt power supply is no longer working for me.

I don't have much money, though, to spend. My case is also beat to **** (Oem cases break whenever I try to open them, heh). Newegg is running a free after rebates case without a power supply. So I figure I'll rebuild my PC witth the power it needs.

If I bought a second power supply, I could have 2 and it would be cheaper. I could use one to power the MB and cards and the other to power my drives. Is this a good idea? Would there be a major heat concern? Is it better off to just buy a bigger power supply...if so, how much do you think I'd need?

I've used those calculators...and they confuse me, haha. I've built most of my PCs, but I just buy the parts and put it together, don't know too much about the technical aspect of it.

Price is definitely a concern. What do you think would be best? I see newegg as a 300w and a 500w up for under $10, HOW sucky are these? They have 1 year warranties..so if they go out I could just replace them, right?

Any advice would be helpful.
__________________

Brinson is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 06:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Power Supply

I've also been thinking of upgrading to an SCSI 15k rpm drive for my OS to increase primary usage speed. I'm not a gamer, just someone who loves his computer.
__________________

Brinson is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 06:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default Re: Power Supply

Just get a large 500W+ Power Supply i.e. a OCZ GameXStream or one of the Fortron (FSP) units. You dont want to be spendinig any less than $100 on a PSU really as they are likley to blow up and take your rig with it! I wouldnt get a 15k SCSI unless you are really bothered about speed, just get a fast SATA2 drive.
RGELLIS is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 09:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Power Supply

What exactly do you have? (Specs) NEVER get a cheap PSU. They can take down your entire system.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 09:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Power Supply

Just get one power supply, rather than two cheap ones. Like turtile said, don't skimp on the power supply. It has the potential, to destroy your whole system, if it fails.

I'd suggest this one. It's enough to run any system, right now:
Newegg.com - Rosewill RP550V2-D-SL 550W SLI Ready-ATX 12V V2.01 Power Supply 115/230 V CSA,UL,TUV - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A loud pop from the power supply Traditz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-23-2007 11:00 AM
7 VSB from power supply?? GregJ Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-14-2007 11:36 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM
power AC adapter with PC power supply? samuraiwarrior Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-23-2007 12:54 PM
just changed power supply, weird harddrive problem (sata) idrisguitar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2007 11:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.