Power Buttons... (silly things) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2005, 09:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 62
Default Power Buttons... (silly things)

It's always the little things that getcha, isn't it?

Last night I finally put my first computer together. Everything seemed to go in the box without a problem, and when I flicked that PSU switch a little green light lit up on the motherboard. BUT, when I pushed the power button, nothing happened. I'm using an older case that I've repainted and made to look cool, and the powerbutton leads were all consolidated into a plastic block. When I plugged the block into the motherboard - and it would only go on one way - obviously the leads weren't lining up right. : / So I tore the power button clicker thing out of a newer cheap case I had around and installed it, but all it does is turn the computer on or force it off - there's no LED or anything because that's all part of the old plug. What it all comes down to, is there any way to purchase just the little switch and LED?

Also, the power button itself on this case itself is sticky and I've never liked it. So in the BIOS I set it so that I could turn the computer on with the keyboard. I've yet to get this to work though. Is there a certain button I need to press? Right now I have the keyboard hooked up through a KVM switch too, and was wondering if that had anything to do with it.

Other than that though this thing screams. I'll put up some pics and stuff later. Thanks in advance for any advice.

dk is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 09:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 133

F12 is resume from hibernation on my pc - not sure if that helps u?? - I have just finished my first build aswell - waiting for AGP card then ready to go/explode !!!

duncan is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 62

Thanks, I tried that but I think the KVM switch it's on is lousing it up. Ah well. I'm working on just trying to tap the power button really lightly - as long as it comes on everything is ok!
dk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.