Posting my possible new comp and 1 question !! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2005, 12:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Default Posting my possible new comp and 1 question !!

First my question :-
Please name me a cpu with enuf power to hold my latest rig (i been told it needs at least 480 watts) and with 24 pins ! And it has to be affordable but stable

Now the stats of my next comp:-
Graphics Card
Sparkle GF 6600GT 128MB DDR PCI-E DVI & TV Out Retail

Headset
Sharkoon Gamers Stereo Headset with Microphone

Floppy Disk Drive
Mitsumi Black 1.44MB 3.5" FDD

Hard Drive
200 GB Western Digital Caviar SATA UDMA150 7200rpm 8MB cache (JD)

Motherboard
DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR SKT939 - Retail Box

Processor
AMD (Venice) Athlon 64 3500+ 939pin 512Kb L2 Cache 90nm Retail Boxed Processor With 3 Year Warranty and Fan Included.

Ram
OCZ EL Dual Channel Kit 2x512MB DDR400 PC3200 CL 2-3-2-6 (LIFETIME WARRANTY) (OCZ4001024ELDC-K)

DVD-RW
Aopen Chameleon 16x DVD R/RW Dual Layer Internal IDE Retail inc 3 colour bezels

Monitor
MaxView FH776 17" CRT 0.28dpi 1280x1024 Beige

Mouse
Newmen Red Usb 3d Crystal Optical Mouse With Red Led

Keyboard
Tension TSK-108B Black/Silver Slim Keyboard
__________________

1337 n00beh is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 12:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Default

please post comments on it and tell me if theres any incompatibilities
__________________

1337 n00beh is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I would get a 3200+ instead of the 3500+ (it has the same core, but different stock speeds) and save the $70 for something else, like G.Skill RAM - although OCZ RAM is still really good, so maybe for a better PSU

some good PSU's are:
OCZ 450W and 520W (the 520W is often called Modstream)
Antec Neopower 480W
Cooler Master Real Power 450W or 550W
Thermaltake 480W, 560W or Butterfly 480W

you can actually get the Ultra-D version of the motherboard, and mod it to an SLI version, using a dab of solder, or a pencil, or something conductive

and use the DFI board's onboard 7.1 sound card
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 91
Default

nobody does ultra d version just the one i posted
1337 n00beh is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

http://www.overclock.co.uk/customer/...=18230&cat=719
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 03:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

btw Forton Blue Storm is suppose to be a good one. It's what I'll be using on my pc when i rack up enough cash to start building.
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 11:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Sparkle? lol. go eVga or Gigabyte for the video card.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Sparkle Power I believe is the company that makes the card. Yea, thats like Walmart putting out there own video card. IT"S CRAP!!! Do not get it. Do like Shawn said and get an eVGA. Leadtek's are also very good.

For memory, that is some good stuff. But if you are going to go with OCZ, I would say get the Platnium Rev. 2's, as they are very good.

Are you going to need sLI? I mean, are you going to use it at all? If not, get the non SLI version, it will shave some money right off of the cost.
Him is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 02:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 130
Default

you should go with gigabyte, they have been good to me. (Especially when it comes to overclocking)
__________________
My blue box:

Gigabyte GA7N400-L mobo
Nforce2 Ultra 400+MCP Chipset
500 Watt Max Power Supply
Athlon xp 2500+ Barton Core
(O.C. @ 2.413ghz)With Stock Fan
Kingston 512Mb DDR PC 3200 Ram
Infineon 512Mb DDR PC 2700 Ram
Running at DDR 400
Sapphire Radeon 9600xt 256mb DDR
(O.C. @ 600Mhz Core/700Mhz Clock)
LiteOn 8x +/- DVDRW Burner
Samsung 16x Max DVD-ROM
Maxtor 40+15 Gb 7200 RPM HDD
Operating System:
Windows xp Pro/Longhorn Mod
overclocker1 is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 03:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by overclocker1
you should go with gigabyte, they have been good to me. (Especially when it comes to overclocking)
For your video card or mobo? I know their mobo's OC pretty well, but I dont know what can be said about their video cards.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.