Post Your Vista Base Score - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2007, 04:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Post Your Vista Base Score

This was odd - 5.3 overall. All items were 5.9 except the graphics card, which was 5.3. It's a EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640 MB. (All specs can be seen here.) All stock. I don't think I trust Vista to judge my PC...
__________________

__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 07:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Post Your Vista Base Score

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vormund View Post
This was odd - 5.3 overall. All items were 5.9 except the graphics card, which was 5.3. It's a EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 640 MB. (All specs can be seen here.) All stock. I don't think I trust Vista to judge my PC...
It gives you whatever is lowest, but yea, that seems low for a 8800, my 79GT gets 5.9 :-\
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 09:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Post Your Vista Base Score

ya i think vista benchmarking is more benchmarketing
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 09:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Post Your Vista Base Score

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
ya i think vista benchmarking is more benchmarketing
Haha, stated perfectly. If games ever use that as a standard, the world will be doomed.....ahh.

@joshd, trade ya cards...!? Kidding of course, but maybe mine can take a lesson from yours.
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 12:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Post Your Vista Base Score

I think a few companys should make a universal one for that stuff... That really did benchmark the machines fairly, anyways, I got a 3.4, damned GPU is holding my system back A LOT, 6600LE lol, then my next highest is the processor at 4.4, then the ram at 4.5 and HDD transfer at 5.3... I think it is fairly decent as I am just running Basic...

Mobo: MSI K9n Platinum
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3000+ AM2 @ 2.8Ghz
RAM: 1Gb Patriot DDR2
HDD: Western Digital SATAII 80gb...
GPU: Albatron 6600LE...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 08:28 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Post Your Vista Base Score

on the bright side my radeon 9250 gets a 2.8 hope that makes u feel better charles
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 12:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Post Your Vista Base Score

Hmm, many of us have a 7200 rpm HDD ... are those of you who are not getting 5.9 with it, IDE? (The only possible limitation?)
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 03:14 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
jungleland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 91
Default Re: Post Your Vista Base Score

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vormund View Post
Hmm, many of us have a 7200 rpm HDD ... are those of you who are not getting 5.9 with it, IDE? (The only possible limitation?)
My 5.9 is with 2 SATA's in RAID 0....before raid, I was getting about 5.4
__________________
Asus P5n32-E SLI
Nvidia 680i SLI Chipset
Intel Pentium D 830 3Ghz OC'ed to 3.825Ghz
Zalman cs9500 Cooler
2GB PC6400 OCZ XTC Platinum
2x WD 250GB SATA (7200rpm, 16mb) RAID 0
1x Maxtor 250GB IDE
BFG NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS OC 256MB PCIe
Lite On DVD-RW SOHW-1693s
Dell 2407WFP (REV A04)
Dell 1800fp (second display)
600W Enermax Noisetaker II EG701AX-VE(W) (Revision 2.2)
3dMark06 Score: 5433 when OC'ed and 5140 stock
1x 120mm ultra quiet vantec case fan
1x 80m ultra queit case fan
jungleland is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 03:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default Re: Post Your Vista Base Score

Quote:
Originally Posted by jungleland View Post
My 5.9 is with 2 SATA's in RAID 0....before raid, I was getting about 5.4
Hmm, then I wonder how I'm getting 5.9 with my single SATA...
__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 03:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
jungleland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 91
Default Re: Post Your Vista Base Score

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vormund View Post
Hmm, then I wonder how I'm getting 5.9 with my single SATA...
I have 2 250gb wd caviar's with 16mb and 7200rpm....
__________________

__________________
Asus P5n32-E SLI
Nvidia 680i SLI Chipset
Intel Pentium D 830 3Ghz OC'ed to 3.825Ghz
Zalman cs9500 Cooler
2GB PC6400 OCZ XTC Platinum
2x WD 250GB SATA (7200rpm, 16mb) RAID 0
1x Maxtor 250GB IDE
BFG NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS OC 256MB PCIe
Lite On DVD-RW SOHW-1693s
Dell 2407WFP (REV A04)
Dell 1800fp (second display)
600W Enermax Noisetaker II EG701AX-VE(W) (Revision 2.2)
3dMark06 Score: 5433 when OC'ed and 5140 stock
1x 120mm ultra quiet vantec case fan
1x 80m ultra queit case fan
jungleland is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Vista Full of Bugs ? NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-29-2007 07:40 PM
Vista Problems FadingTheory Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-24-2007 06:55 AM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM
Vista & my Wireless Network motoxer4533 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-31-2007 08:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.