Post Your Pretty Wire Management - Page 98 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2006, 01:11 PM   #971 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

I did post a picture on page 64, I hope what PP ment was by removing the sleeving it would make it easier to pinch the wires. The back of the mobo is full of pointy contacts that can pinch the wires.
But as long as you are careful and pay attention the wiring should never be compromised.
While I was reading this I came up with a much easier/neater way that will clean the wires up as well. Il post picts later.

The whole reason for the hiding the wires thing is 2 fold.
1-Airflow is VERY important, any wires in the way slow up the movement of air.(If your fan is rated at 53CFM thats in a perfect world with nothing in its way,once you add wires and cages the airflow goes down a lot)

2-when you look inside a comp messy wiring is ugly. Sounds superficial but its true. My thought for the UltraBlue was eliminate the wires and clean up the other stuff (HDDs/ CD-roms look 10 times better painted to match/contrast with the case.)
__________________

__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 01:21 PM   #972 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by joshd
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake-Eyes
He means take off the zipties that hold the 24-pin connector wires together, not strip the dang wires.
I dont know why, but that made me laugh.

RGELLIS is away at the moment, so wont be able to try flattening the mobo power connector, but i will make sure he reads this when he gets back.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 01:22 PM   #973 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

woah what happened there.... make an edit and the post duplicated itself?
joshd is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 02:41 PM   #974 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,309
Default

Then he should be more specific because if i could make a mistake like that then any other n00b coming in here would do it not knowing any better. Then when their **** fries come back complaining how they have no PC anymore.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-25-2006, 04:24 PM   #975 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

The real question then is how did i get it when you didn't?
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 06:29 PM   #976 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 129
Default

ooooohhhhhhh...fight, fight, fight... I've violated sig size again Elbatrop took away my sig license. I'm sad now...
GreenTeaBagger is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 07:19 PM   #977 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,309
Default

Because im tired, have worked my *** off all weekend, have been running on 3 hours of sleep, and was being distracted by my gf while trying to browse this site.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:35 PM   #978 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Fair enough.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 02:59 AM   #979 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,309
Default

Anywho, case pictures people? Im building 2 new machines mATX so it should actualy maybe make me work for decent cable management. Whole new story for me cause little toasters im not used to dealing w/. 2 different colored Aspire toaster boxes w/ mATX boards w/ one socket A and other Socket 939. Speaking of which, go respond on my thread cause idk what a good mATX board is.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:16 PM   #980 (permalink)
The ModFather
 
markkleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Reno Nevada
Posts: 273
Default

PP.
My favorite is the Biostar Tforce 6100 (939) board because it is EXCELLENT to OC. It has Sata2 but only 2 of them.

The Asus A8N VM-CSM is also good. It has 4 Sata2 but wont OC very good. It does have better onboard graphics(Gforce6 onboard) and sound(ADI AD1986A) and can do Raid 0,1,0/1,1/5
__________________

__________________
MKMods
markkleb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.