Post Your Pretty Wire Management - Page 83 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2006, 06:28 PM   #821 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

and the crappy thing.... i didnt really see any difference in access times. Only time i saw any difference really was just when installing programs. Stuff seemed to load about the same,, maybe just a tiny bit faster. Plus when you got 4 of those fast drives grinding away, they tend to get a bit loud, even with rubber drive silencers
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 08:06 PM   #822 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

The deal for me is, i would HATE having 4 drives in my case cause right now 2 is heavy enough for me when i go everywhere w/ my PC.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-15-2006, 08:28 PM   #823 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

i hope my casw doesnt get 2 heavy with the BLack kandalf
john3 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:11 AM   #824 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to turboFX55 Send a message via Yahoo to turboFX55
Default

i had scsi in the past, but i say i am much happier with sata raid since you dont share that same bus line for all hard drives, thats the problem with scsi and ide raid.
turboFX55 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 01:12 PM   #825 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

hey turbo i wanted to ask, how good are those SATA plextor burners? whats the diff between them and IDE?
john3 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:49 PM   #826 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

With my experience only the size of the cable But i didnt do any real exstensive tests.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:54 PM   #827 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

you can get ide to sata adapters for $12 USA from new egg i have 2 of these for my dvd-rom and dvd-rw
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16812206002
reckliss is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 04:17 PM   #828 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Alright, today my sister declared the death of her low-end machine [not old but it was made just for word and office needs no gaming whatsoever].

So I took it to my room, opend it up[Too bad I didnt take pictures] IT LOOKED HORRIFYING!! TERRIBLE!! as if a winter of DUST took place in it, everything had a 2-5mm thick cover on it of compressed DUST!!.

Also the cables was all over the place, and the poor 1 80mm fan barley moved any air from the case because of all the cables.

So, I Took a deep breath and worked for 3-4 hours on the case to clean it up completley, add some ram I had lying around and re-wire the whole thing to at least help that poor little 80mm fan in there to do ANYTHING at all.

Here's the resaults: [i'll resize if its insanly big right now im lazy lol]




Now you must be wondering, where's MOST of the wires? I've gotta hand it to my guru turboFX for making me see the importance of a Mobo Tray :



Hehe, throw your comments, dont forget this was done with NO equipment for cable wiring AT ALL and with a very small and restrictive case.

-Jo
Yoad is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 04:38 PM   #829 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to NOGA
Default

meh you really could do better. sleeveing would be nice but then again its not worth it on that comp :P
__________________
<a href=\"http://imageshack.us\"><img src=\"http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/7308/sigset7kw.jpg\" border=\"0\" width=\"468\" alt=\"Image Hosted by ImageShack.us\" /></a>
NOGA is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 04:43 PM   #830 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

I Used NO CABLE MANAGMENT EQUIPMENT, AT ALL..

No sleeving no zip ties no nothing, some electric tape and intution.

I Already mention this in the post above...

the point was to do the max with a very restrictive and small case, very short psu cables and again, no sleeving, no zip ties and barley any equipment at all.

So yeah I Asked, given the circumstances that there was used no special tool but my hand and some electrical tape, how does it look? I Thought it came out REALLY WELL lol.

-Jo
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.