Post your highest 3dMark06 Scores! - Page 18 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2006, 05:42 PM   #171 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flying-Squirrel
No we won't answer that stupid question. Either you decide to OC in which case you should go read all the stickies and learn, or you decide not to in which case we don't want to talk to you in the first place
Thanks for being a Diick, I have read the stickies. The stickies dont tell me whether I should try and OC an x850xt or how well they will do it. so why dont you F*CK OFF if you dont have anything helpful to say.:beard:
__________________

Brew_WY is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 05:51 PM   #172 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 95_GSX
Is there something I should do to bump my score??? I have never tried OC'ing anything but I would be interested in trying it with my GPU. I dont know how well these X850XT OC. What about OC'ing my CPU?? I am a little leary of doing that because it run's in the high 50* C range as it is (when I am gaming). Some insight on this would be greatly appreciated.:beard:

Oh, and what is HDR/SM3.0??? Thanks.
apparently the x8*** series were crap... I've always used Nvidia so... i wouldn't know... the only things I could suggest would be to make sure you have the newest drivers, and look for an overclocking utility for ati cards... (for example: Nvidia uses Rivatuner)

50C doesn't seem like a bad temp when considering gfx cards...

and... I'm not sure what HDR is.. but SM3.0 is shader module 3... or pixel shader and your card doesn't have it as far as I know... (I'm pretty sure thats an Nvidia thing)

Quote:
Originally posted by Juice Daddy
he's a PHONY!!!
oh, and btw... please don't consider me a d!ck as well... I was simply quoteing something I saw on family guy...

well then... back on topic

~post your highest 3d06 scores~
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 06:07 PM   #173 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Juice Daddy
apparently the x8*** series were crap... I've always used Nvidia so... i wouldn't know... the only things I could suggest would be to make sure you have the newest drivers, and look for an overclocking utility for ati cards... (for example: Nvidia uses Rivatuner)

50C doesn't seem like a bad temp when considering gfx cards...

and... I'm not sure what HDR is.. but SM3.0 is shader module 3... or pixel shader and your card doesn't have it as far as I know... (I'm pretty sure thats an Nvidia thing)

I should have clarified, 50*C is my CPU temp. I know my GPU has gotten into the 70*C's gaming. ATI came out with the Catalyst Control center for their GPUs I would assume it is similar to Rivatuner.Also the x850xt has "Smartshader HD" witch is a pixel shading engine. I wonder if 3dmark isnt designed to test it?

EDIT----> Right now my GPU is @45*C with a memory clock of 594, so i guess i will go an run 3dmark and see if it makes a difference. Also I looked into max GPU temps at ATI's website and couldn't find one. If you guys know where i could find that it would be appreciated. That scored a 2236. so i guess i will keep bumping it up until my untill the card clocks itself back, CC does this.

EDIT#2---> Alright when I bumped the GPU mem clock to 608mhz my score dropped to 2214. What causes this??? thanks.

I have heard people talk about "opening up more pipelines" on there GPUs what is this about??? Thanks.:beard:
Brew_WY is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 06:19 PM   #174 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 95_GSX
EDIT----> Right now my GPU is @45*C with a memory clock of 594, so i guess i will go an run 3dmark and see if it makes a difference. Also I looked into max GPU temps at ATI's website and couldn't find one. If you guys know where i could find that it would be appreciated. That scored a 2236. so i guess i will keep bumping it up until my untill the card clocks itself back, CC does this.

EDIT#2---> Alright when I bumped the GPU mem clock to 608mhz my score dropped to 2214. What causes this??? thanks.

I have heard people talk about "opening up more pipelines" on there GPUs what is this about??? Thanks.:beard:
Anyone know what happened here???? Thanks.
:beard:
Brew_WY is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 07:28 PM   #175 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 114
Send a message via AIM to Duplicity
Default

Machine in my sig.

4547 3DMarks
__________________
DFI Lanarty Ultra-D
Opteron 165 @ 2.5, 1.325v
1x1GB Mushkin XP4000 @ 250, 3-4-3-8 (another gig on the way)
Sapphire X1900XT @ 700/800 (she\'ll do better, but I need to replace the stock cooler)
WD 1600JB 160GB
Antec SP 500W
Duplicity is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 10:20 PM   #176 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Juice Daddy
apparently the x8*** series were crap... I've always used Nvidia so... i wouldn't know... the only things I could suggest would be to make sure you have the newest drivers, and look for an overclocking utility for ati cards... (for example: Nvidia uses Rivatuner)

50C doesn't seem like a bad temp when considering gfx cards...

and... I'm not sure what HDR is.. but SM3.0 is shader module 3... or pixel shader and your card doesn't have it as far as I know... (I'm pretty sure thats an Nvidia thing)



oh, and btw... please don't consider me a d!ck as well... I was simply quoteing something I saw on family guy...

well then... back on topic

~post your highest 3d06 scores~
Haha that's a pretty good episode of family guy.
BillGates is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:23 AM   #177 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

well my score in 3Dmark05 was 299 and 3dMark06 crashed on me.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:27 AM   #178 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Nice.
Time to upgrade.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 07:01 PM   #179 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

Quote:

EDIT#2---> Alright when I bumped the GPU mem clock to 608mhz my score dropped to 2214. What causes this??? thanks.

I have heard people talk about "opening up more pipelines" on there GPUs what is this about??? Thanks.:beard:
2236 and 2214 aren't all that different...but when you overclock past what your card can handle, it'll perform worse.

Some video cards have pipelines that are locked...the agp 6800gs for example has 12 pipelines stock, but it actually contains 16 pipelines...sometimes you can unlock the other 4 pipelines...but a lot of times the extra pipelines are damaged.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 07:23 PM   #180 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default

Thanks for the explanation. :beard:
__________________

Brew_WY is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.